MySwag.org  The Off-road Camper Trailer Forum
July 30, 2010, 04:21:00 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Login with username, password and session length
News: All Classified ads will be deleted after 60 days with no posts. Please post updates in your classified advert to prevent it being deleted at the end of the month.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Rear Window Guard  (Read 3489 times)
Moggs
Swag User

« on: September 09, 2007, 08:41:49 PM »

Have just spent a few hours this afternoon making up some rear window guards to keep any errant stones from ruining future holidays. I thought I'd post some info up here as it might assist someone else considering doing something similar.

Although the Tambo has a an excellent stone guard I wanted to use something to cover the back windows. Tambo stone guard:

I looked around at the commercially available rear window products and thought they were a bit expensive so set about making my own.

In the end I bought two sheets of 900 x 600mm 3mm polycarbonate for $69 from Bunnings along with some Velcro Brand adhesive velcro dots ($7.95 for a 40 set pack) and some clear rubber adhesive buttons ($3.95 for an 18 pack). All up cost to make the window savers was therefore $80.90.

I used a butchers paper template to get the shape right and then cut it out with the jigsaw set on low speed using an offset tooth aluminium / plastics blade which I already had. The vertical and horizontal cuts that terminate in a drilled hole (done with a blunt drill bit at slow speed) allow the polycarbonate to bend with the curve of the window and the clear rubber buttons keep it off the glass. The hook velcro dots stay on the vehicle - which is ok as they don't interfere with anything (wiper just slides over them)

All in all very happy with the result! Would highly recommend making your own - it was dead easy! A couple of tips I picked up from researching the web prior to starting last night:

- Use masking tape top and bottom of the polycarbonate prior to cutting.
- Clamp the sheet close to the cut for the full length prior to cutting.
- Make sure the jigsaw is on low speed to prevent shattering and melting
- Use the 'Velcro' or '3M' brand velcro dots as they have better adhesion in the heat than the cheaper brands
- Use a blunt drill bit on low speed to terminate the horizontal and vertical cuts
- Remove the window saver when not towing as it may loose adhesion if sitting in the summer sun - no problem, just toss them under the camper when arrived
- The Velcro Brand dots come in a 40 set, so have some left over to carry as spare in the vehicle

Hopefully some others will find this useful.

A few photos of the finished product:

Moggs
A big green 4wd
Tambo Cooper
earvin
I Should Be Out Camping!
Tent User

« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2007, 09:17:08 PM »

Nice job Moggs Grin Very professional 1st Place How do you think the velcro will hold up to corrugations and the like?

"When the deities are with you, you can cross the ocean on a plank. When they are against you, you can drown in a ditch".
Moggs
Swag User

« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2007, 09:24:59 PM »

Thanks earvin. I am pretty sure it will hold up ok offroad. Each sheet is held on by 16 velcro spots and the vertical / horizontal cuts ensure there is no leverage on them. The sheets at 3mm are light so there should not be any stress on the velcro. The sheets stick on very firm and you really have to pry each velcro spot undone one by one to get it off. I will carry spare velcro spots in the kit now, hopefully they will not be needed.

Moggs
A big green 4wd
Tambo Cooper
earvin
I Should Be Out Camping!
Tent User

« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2007, 08:26:41 AM »

Thats awesome Moggs. Like i said top effort 1st Place Looks better than having a real estate for sale sign in your window Grin

"When the deities are with you, you can cross the ocean on a plank. When they are against you, you can drown in a ditch".
Shemdaph
GONE TROPPO
Winnebago User

« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2007, 09:25:29 AM »

Man u inspire me. I m going to make some. How is the rear vision through the polycarb?

My only problem is that I m useless with a jig saw. I rarely get a straight line.

Daniel
06 Patrol ST 3.0 Auto
Cub Supamatic Camper &
AORC Odyssey ZR
Moggs
Swag User

« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2007, 09:36:14 AM »

LOL!, I can't cut straight with a jigsaw either, but luckily the cuts to match the Patrol rear windows are curved.

Vision is fine, no distortion. It will be inetersting to see if it scratches up or hazes. Will just need to be careful cleaning it I reckon.

Moggs
A big green 4wd
Tambo Cooper
Johnny Trackabout
MySwag Contributor
Hard Floor Camper User

GIDDY UP...WHOO BACK

« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2007, 09:50:25 AM »

Great job Moggs......where do I place my order?

Australia's Premium Campers www.trackabout.com.au
Bushman
Global Moderator
Winnebago User

"Apprentice Grey Nomad" Something new is coming!

« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2007, 07:18:09 PM »

Great stuff Moggs.  1st Place

Need to do one for the Pathie, would you recommend making it 2 piece or 1.

09 Pajero NT  RX Limited
08 Jayco Swan Outback

GU Rich
IS IT FRIDAY YET?
Winnebago User

BLAZING TRAILS IN THE MOUNTAIN TRAIL.......

« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2007, 07:34:25 PM »

Great job there Moggs!! great detailed info on the process of your design. Just one question mate how much clearance is there between the glass and the window saver? And would there be much chance of the glass scratching if dirt ect went between?  I guess thats 2 questions!!
Cheers Rich
« Last Edit: September 10, 2007, 08:38:59 PM by GU Rich » Logged

07 GU IV PATROL
OFF ROAD, MOUNTAIN TRAIL CAMPER
LOOK FOR "MY SWAG" STICKER ON MY CAMPER Come and say G'day
Moggs
Swag User

« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2007, 08:08:42 PM »

Great stuff Moggs.  1st Place

Need to do one for the Pathie, would you recommend making it 2 piece or 1.

Hi Michael,

I reckon you should do 1 piece for the Pathy glass - no real reason to do two that I can think of. Hope all is well.

Moggs
A big green 4wd
Tambo Cooper
Moggs
Swag User

« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2007, 08:12:57 PM »

Great job there Moggs!! great detailed info on the process of your design. Just one question mate how much clearance is there between the glass and the window saver? And would there be much chance of the glass scrathing if dirt ect went between?  I guess thats 2 questions!!
Cheers Rich

Hi Rich, Hopefully the process I used can help someone else make their own. There is at least 5mm clearance between the polycarbonate and the glass all over. The clear rubber buttons that are at the end of each vertical and horizontal cut that terminates in the drilled holes ensure it doesn't touch in the center of the sheet due to the curve of the glass. The velcro dots also hold the sides off about 5mm. I don't think there is anyway that dirt would cause issues if it went between. With the gap I am sure you could easily clear any dust / dirt out with the hose if needed.

Moggs
A big green 4wd
Tambo Cooper
Moggs
Swag User

« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2007, 08:20:26 PM »

Great job Moggs......where do I place my order?

lol! Sure $250 a pop sound cool?? Evil.

BTW, I am happy to send a butchers paper template of the Patrol rear savers to any fellow Patrol owners if they want.

Moggs
A big green 4wd
Tambo Cooper
cruza driver
Are We There Yet!
Hard Floor Camper User

105 series Cruiser and Jayco Hawk Outback

« Reply #12 on: September 10, 2007, 08:23:28 PM »

Mate very impressive job you have done  1st Place looks good

105 SERIES CRUISER AND OUTBACK JAYCO HAWK
THESE SERIES OF PICS WERE ARKAROOLA FLINDERS RANGES
GU Rich
IS IT FRIDAY YET?
Winnebago User

BLAZING TRAILS IN THE MOUNTAIN TRAIL.......

« Reply #13 on: September 10, 2007, 08:39:50 PM »

Cool Moggs thanks!! i was just wondering..

07 GU IV PATROL
OFF ROAD, MOUNTAIN TRAIL CAMPER
LOOK FOR "MY SWAG" STICKER ON MY CAMPER Come and say G'day
Troyk
Soft Floor Camper User

Novice Adventurer

« Reply #14 on: September 11, 2007, 07:26:06 AM »

Moggs, Nice job.

How much clearance between the guard and the window?

If I had everything where would I put it.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  

Jump to:  

English Steel 1.6 � Saxon North Technologies