MySwag.org  The Off-road Camper Trailer Forum
September 06, 2010, 11:44:46 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to MySwag.org - Australia's only dedicated Off-road Camper Trailer Forum.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Ozpig - Tips and Tricks  (Read 823 times)
ripas
Swag User

« on: July 29, 2010, 08:39:05 PM »

Finally got around to purchasing an Ozpig.  I have searched the various threads and thought we could have a master thread for all things Ozpig Smiley

I have been using it on the deck the last few weeks and havent had the chance to take it camping just yet.  I have to figure out a mounting plate option on the drawbar or alternatively a suitable box to store on the roofrack (although it may be a pain to lift that high given its 17kg).

Some things I have learnt so far:

1.  Wood should be no larger than say your wrist - I have found that larger pieces of solid timber just dont burn that well
2.  The front door needs to be left open for adequate supply of air
3.  A diffuser on top slows the rate of burning

I have cooked a small damper a couple of times - I just placed the small camp over directly in the top hole.

Tonight I cooked a couple of pizza's - worked really well.

I am keen to try a roast using the slow roast method but Im not that confident - I have a spun steel oven and leaving it on the lower plate whilst touching the main body of the Ozpig just didnt seem to generate enough heat.  Also the plates have a raised piece of steel on one side - not sure what for but I think I will grind these off.

I would love to hear other peoples tricks and tips and what they have cooked......
« Last Edit: July 29, 2010, 08:42:45 PM by ripas » Logged
Scotty
Sleeping Bag User - Trusted

« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2010, 09:49:00 PM »

I want to try some redgum firewood from Bunnies to see how that goes. Meantime, I have had great success with the compressed sawdust firelogs they sell. I think the spun metal may not hold heat evenly or for a decent length of time, unlike cast iron.In any case, leaving anything on the warming plate is done after the desired length of cooking time. A boiled kettle will stay reasonably close to boiling on the warming plate, as will a stew or roast. Just return it to the fire when needed. It is a matter of waiting for the fire to burn down to coals I reckon. Anyhow, it will be a few weeks before I get back to mine, because we are shifting, and the move will be done by myself over 160 K's. This means about eight trips of 320 K's each. Then, I will become a leading Ozpig Master Chef. Is that too much to aim for?   Cool
Gonewalkabouts
Tent User

« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2010, 10:44:37 PM »

Ive got one, and do like it very much, its amazing the different kinds of food I can burn the crap of on this little wonder, maybe I will get better at either raw or charcoal.....

Cant blame the pig for that.....
ripas
Swag User

« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2010, 04:33:17 PM »

I was hoping to be a Mater Chef too - but alas my first roast lamb dinner has turned to $%^& !!

There is a black film all over the meat and veg - it tastes like burnt oil so Im guessing the CO got too hot.  I followed the slow roast method on the Ozpig website which is heating the oven over the firebox followed by gentle heat on the side warming plate.

Im also not convinced that my spun steel oven gets hot enough on the side warming plate - the meat is barely warm when doing it this way - I will have to borrow a mates cast CO and see if there is a difference is heat dispersion.

What a waste of good food !! Lucky Im doing this at home and not camping - takeaway it is tonight Sad
graylyn
Hard Floor Camper User

Phuket, Thailand

« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2010, 06:09:15 PM »

ouch!!!

The worst day fishing is always better than the best day at work.

2009 Colorado 3 litre
2005 Jayco Dove Outback
full 60 litre Engel
ripas
Swag User

« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2010, 10:14:50 AM »

Well the Chinese take-away was great  Grin

My tip for those with a spun steel camp oven is to just leave it over the firebox opening with the diffuser inbetween - this is a better way to manage the heat.

I ended up carving a thin layer off the outside of the roast - the meat inside was excellent so at least I can have roast lamb sandwiches for lunch.
Scotty
Sleeping Bag User - Trusted

« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2010, 10:41:06 AM »

When you say there was a black film all over the roast, I feel I must ask the burning question  (pun intended) did the CO get seasoned properly. The cast iron CO's have a waxy coating that must be remoived, andI reckon the spun metal ones do as well. Do'nt let this spot of bother put you off, keep on trying.
ripas
Swag User

« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2010, 03:36:59 PM »

Yeah mate its about the fifth or so roast I've cooked in it - Im pretty sure the camp oven just got too hot and resulted in burning of the olive oil.

Isuzumu
Swag User

« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2010, 08:05:46 PM »

I have owned my OzPig for about three years and the first point when using the camp oven is to not have a big fire under it and to use heat beads on the lid, heat in the pig first. Secondly I drilled about six 3/8 holes in the back of the pig around three inches from the bottom so as to get more air into the fire, now works brillant. (maybe i should tell the makes  Grin)   
albany_nomads
Swag User

Dylan: Just add water ...Dylan our Border Collie

« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2010, 09:14:11 PM »

How about a photo of your modification Isuzumu..
Just that Ive also got an OzPig..works great, cooks great very economical on wood but do feel it needs an improvement to help breath when you close the door.
I also ground a very small cresent edge out of the lip of the top plate that way my camp oven (small oven as there is only two of us) fits snugly in the top of the pig and i have a small diffuser in the camp oven to keep what ever Im cooking off the base of the oven.
Im still experimenting and learning
« Last Edit: August 09, 2010, 09:22:02 PM by albany_nomads » Logged

ripas
Swag User

« Reply #10 on: August 10, 2010, 06:24:47 AM »

Had an excellent meal courtesy of the Ozpig last night.  I placed a cast iron pan over the top and cooked snags and steak.  I also cooked a damper for desert in a small camp oven placed directly into the top firebox.

Im really enjoying the Ozpig.  It gives you that camping feeling whilst at home. Importantly I am also beginning to teach the little ones about fire safety.
darren
Winnebago User

"Caedite eos. Novit enim Dominus qui sunt eius"

« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2010, 06:37:07 AM »

G'Day All
 I see you all put the camp oven in the oz pig hole so it cooks from the bottom. How does that go?
 I have always cooked away from the fire with just coals on top. I'm not saying it wrong, just wondering thats all
Darren

Some type a lot..
Some do a lot..
chunk
Swag User

One life, live it

« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2010, 04:11:03 PM »

While the OZ Pig does look the goods I just can't get a handle on lugging the bloody thing all over the country.
albany_nomads
Swag User

Dylan: Just add water ...Dylan our Border Collie

« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2010, 08:06:31 PM »

Hi Chunk..The pig does collapse and is fairly compact..it fits into a crate about the size of a milk crate..
My other view is.. I shake my head when I arrive at a lot of the bush camps lately and see the forever spreading of campfire pit scars ..
The OzPig leaves no scar on the camp ground when you leave.

muntersdad
Sleeping Bag User

« Reply #14 on: August 10, 2010, 08:32:00 PM »

I am lead to believe that the burnt film is actually burnt oil, I have experienced this cooking in the camp oven pre OzPig
One of the secrets to cooking a roast is not to add oil to your camp oven, I add no oil at all and our OzPig cooks terrific roasts, meat also needs to be on a trivet.
I find that you need to keep the door open to keep up an air flow but I have never found this to be a problem.
You will also find that an OzPig is allowed in a lot of places that fire bins and fire pits aren't and the added bonus is that they are economical on wood.
But I must admit nothing beats sitting around a nice big open fire

2006 D40 Diesel Navara
Outback Sturt
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  

Jump to:  

English Steel 1.6 � Saxon North Technologies