Author Topic: Where to buy a Scangauge 11  (Read 13662 times)

Where to buy a Scangauge 11
« on: March 14, 2013, 01:25:21 PM »
I was about to order a Scangauge 11 from Wooders Garage, but first I did a search on Wooders Garage and found they are under Voluntary Administration! Their web site appears normal and no mention of the administration in their forum.  Just feel it would be a risk buying on line through them. It seems the only other business who supplies the Scangauge is Ample Outdoors.  I tried to talk to them a few weeks back but they were not that helpful.  Does anyone know any other business who sells them? (I have tried Google but no help.)  Or should I just go through Ample Outdoors.  Kevin

Offline Fozzle

Re: Where to buy a Scangauge 11
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2013, 01:35:14 PM »
Millsy at "The Ute Shed" in Perth sells them and usually has a few in stock and he will happily post it out to you. He has supplied mine and many out parts for my vehicle and wouldn't hesitate to recommend him.

Offline Foss

« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2013, 01:44:35 PM »
I bought mine direct from Ample Outdoors. Fast postage.

http://scangauge.com.au/?page_id=6

with Ample Outdoors, you can try one to make sure it does what you want.  (Just make the payment, they will send you a trial unit and return postage bag. If you don't like it, return it and they refund your money. If you do like it, return the trial unit and they send a brand new one) I just bought mine outright, but a mate trialed one first to make sure he could get ATF readings for his D-Max. Says the process worked very well & without a hitch. Mine works perfectly.

Foss

Offline GanG

• NEDSA
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2013, 03:35:06 PM »
I bought mine direct from Ample Outdoors. Fast postage.

http://scangauge.com.au/?page_id=6

with Ample Outdoors, you can try one to make sure it does what you want.  (Just make the payment, they will send you a trial unit and return postage bag. If you don't like it, return it and they refund your money. If you do like it, return the trial unit and they send a brand new one) I just bought mine outright, but a mate trialed one first to make sure he could get ATF readings for his D-Max. Says the process worked very well & without a hitch. Mine works perfectly.

Foss
Bought mine there also, works ok........not quite as polished as I would have liked in some areas, but largely happy with it.
Light travels faster than sound............that's why some folks may appear bright until they speak

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2013, 03:53:15 PM »
I was going to buy scan guage as well but was directed towards ultra guage cost $125 delivered to my door and has heaps of readings and custom screen set ups.

My apologies if you already knew about them and have disregarded them just thought I would mention as I had no idea they existed.

Jet :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline Foss

« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2013, 04:31:23 PM »
I like the Scangauge's ability to supply all manner of information, plus the ability to clear codes (not that I have had to yet), but the MAJOR reason I bought this product was to display and monitor ATF or TFT (auto transmission fluid temperatures) Scangauge II allows you to program this into the device via the x-gauge feature. (some vehicles - not all - check on Ample Outdoors's website)  To me, this is invaluable when towing either my camper or caravan to keep transmission temperatures down by way of gear selection, speed etc. You would be amazed at the fluctuations in transmission temps (and how high it can get), dependent on what gear or speed you have selected. Hopefully this will help me look after my expensive auto trans for years to come !!! AFAIK, the UltraGauge does not have the ability to display TFT.

Foss

« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2013, 06:40:23 PM »
Plenty of fleabay sellers too.

If com
Any is under vol admin that's about the safest transaction you can do because it is secured by the adminstrators so don't worry.

Plenty of Paj guys run the ultra and it has a nicer display but as above, no ATF temp which is primary reason I want one, and with modern sealed for life (cough cough) trannies I want to be able to monitor the temps.

« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2013, 07:23:44 PM »
Doesnt help the OP but FWIW I use Torque Pro on my Android with an OBD2 bluetooth adaptor, works well but doesnt do auto trans temp, yet, he is always improving it so maybe one day. One good thing when it does show a fault code it will go online and search for info on it, providing you have coverage and its cheap

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2013, 08:04:42 PM »
I am not sure but is the ATF reading dictated by the cars port not the guage. With my car apparently it does not matter what product I use it is the vehicles system that limits the information being avail.

I am no expert on this stuff and fully agree that if one does ATF and the other does not the go with the one that does but be sure to check your car will allow the reading.

Jet :cheers:
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2013, 08:29:44 PM »
 Its all over my head but I think a lot of it is model specific with the OBD2 reader makers, by that I mean most of the time, not always, the info is there but its up to the supplier to come up with the port addresses and formulae to convert the raw data into readable figures. I have a Rodeo and Scangauge didnt show ATF and I remember a few years ago some scangauge owners had worked out how to get it to show ATF and the guy at Torque waits until he gets enough requests for some output for a particular vehicle then he will work it out and put out an update.

Offline MarkandLea

« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2013, 09:13:35 PM »
x2 for Ultra Gauge.
I have been really happy with mine. Seemed to have more options for me then the Scan Gauge when I got mine.

« Reply #12 on: March 14, 2013, 10:33:51 PM »
I am not sure but is the ATF reading dictated by the cars port not the guage. With my car apparently it does not matter what product I use it is the vehicles system that limits the information being avail.

I am no expert on this stuff and fully agree that if one does ATF and the other does not the go with the one that does but be sure to check your car will allow the reading.

Jet :cheers:

On the Pajero ultra gauge does not do ATF temp and scan gauge 2 does. I think it's the same on Landcrusiers too.

Offline cyberess

« Reply #13 on: March 14, 2013, 11:43:14 PM »
I purchased mine direct -- main reason, is that I got the trial unit first, as I own a Mahindra Pik-up ute, and that was not listed on  their web site..

As quoted from http://scangauge.com.au/?page_id=332
Demo / Test units are available for direct testing in your vehicle.
If we have no compatibility information on your vehicle and a Google search has not yielded any compatibility information then please call us on 1300 796 960 to organise a demo unit to be sent to you for testing.
The procedure:
  • We charge you for a new unit but send a current version demo model for you to try in your vehicle / motorcycle. We also include a return paid postage bag.
  • If the SG2 works, you send the demo unit back to us in the supplied postage bag and we will then send you a new unit (we will wear second freight cost).
  • If the SG2 doesn’t work, you send the demo back and we will refund the purchase cost less the original freight cost.

So I got the trial unit first -- impressed I was -- returned the unit then they send me a new unit.

Mounts just with Velcro onto my dash mat,

The main thing that I use it for, is instant fuel economy figures, accurate speed reading, and due to the fact I like gadgets.

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #14 on: March 15, 2013, 07:31:19 AM »
Very interested in this thread.  We have just purchased a Nissan Patrol GU 7 and wanted to know if anybody out there has used a Scan guage or ultra guage on their GU 7, including what read outs you get? :)

« Reply #15 on: March 15, 2013, 10:00:58 AM »

The main thing that I use it for, due to the fact I like gadgets then iinstant fuel economy figures, accurate speed reading.

Fixed with Real order of priority. LOL

« Reply #16 on: March 15, 2013, 11:05:40 AM »
Thanks for your replies.  I have ordered the Scangauge through Ample Outdoors. Hopefully delivery will be before we head off on our next trip in early April.   Kevin

« Reply #17 on: March 20, 2013, 06:45:01 PM »
Very good delivery from Ample Outdoors.  Ordered it last Friday, arrived today!  Now to set it up tomorrow.  ;D  Kevin

Offline Brad_m

« Reply #18 on: March 27, 2013, 07:06:30 AM »
Its all over my head but I think a lot of it is model specific with the OBD2 reader makers, by that I mean most of the time, not always, the info is there but its up to the supplier to come up with the port addresses and formulae to convert the raw data into readable figures. I have a Rodeo and Scangauge didnt show ATF and I remember a few years ago some scangauge owners had worked out how to get it to show ATF and the guy at Torque waits until he gets enough requests for some output for a particular vehicle then he will work it out and put out an update.

You'd surprised by the amount of data that some cars don't have.  OBD2 wasn't mandated in Australia until 2005. Even then the data required to meet OBD2 is only emissions related anyway.   Stuff like ATF temp is purely a manufacturer specific data line.
Then the product manufacturer need to work out the rest to get it to show. 
Attention COMMODORE DRIVERS, there is a stick near your steering wheel that makes orange lights flash on the outside of your car!!! These are used to tell people in advance that you intend to turn a corner or change lanes.