Author Topic: Overnight storage of CT  (Read 5820 times)

Offline Goose

• Life turns on a dime.
Overnight storage of CT
« on: August 30, 2013, 11:54:01 AM »
We are heading to a wedding in Campbelltown NSW on a Friday night next month, and then we're going for a weekend of camping afterwards.

We are staying in a hotel in Campbelltown, but the hotel can't accommodate my car and camper in their carpark due to space restrictions (they are fully booked that night).

Any thoughts where I could start for finding secure accommodation for a CT for a single night? Was thinking some place like Kennards Storage but i doubt they deal in just a single night.

Offline Murph

Re: Overnight storage of CT
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2013, 11:59:52 AM »
The local police station ? They can only say no!

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2013, 12:16:18 PM »
The storage joint will probably do it..........I would. Just ring and ask if they have an secure outdoor spot you can use.

Offline whitey1

• Mr and Mrs Whiteys Great Oz Trek
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2013, 12:57:43 PM »
Some caravan parks have a storage area for vans. Probably charge you the same as if you were staying though.

Toyota Prado D4D towing an custom built off road caravan
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mr-Mrs-Whiteys-Great-Oz-Trek/23574764645

« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2013, 01:10:45 PM »
I'd be scared leaving my trailer anywhere in campbelltown for more than 20 seconds. let alone overnight, chained up, wheels off, 20 pit bulls or not....

Offline nick_4x4

• Xiam Design and Hosting
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2013, 01:40:55 PM »
Maybe a member of myswag that lives in or near the area could help out?

I would ring around some storage places and even caravan parks.

We had the same issue when traveling with ours last year, i rang the first motel they said no, so i rang second telling them first said no, the second gave us two car parks, they just wanted our business more.

Good luck.
2004 GU Patrol 3.0TD - 2010 Ezytrail

« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2013, 03:33:24 PM »
cancel motel book else  where and dont mention the camper i have done so many times and never been refused - alot of tradies roll up at motels with trailers

Overnight storage of CT
« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2013, 03:49:06 PM »
I'd offer our front yard but its barely suitable. I am sure there is a MySwag member down that way who would store the camper for you overnight.

I too would be reluctant to leave my camper unattended in parts of Campbeltown.

« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2013, 03:52:22 PM »
I'd be scared leaving my trailer anywhere in campbelltown for more than 20 seconds. let alone overnight, chained up, wheels off, 20 pit bulls or not....

What he said  >:D

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
Overnight storage of CT
« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2013, 04:43:13 PM »
when we did the cape we left ours at the repairer.. in cairns..

thats cos the wife wanted to wind it up one day and didnt un clip on the clips on her side.. and brake the up rod thing..

Carry on...
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline weso

• be good or be good at it !!!!!!!!!!!!
    • 64eh.com
Overnight storage of CT
« Reply #10 on: August 30, 2013, 06:18:27 PM »
I'm in Quakers hill I could help you out pm sent

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
64 EH(premier sedan)gone but will never be forgotten, 64VAN(windowless panel van),
2008 Nisan Navara, leisure matters ranger hard floor

Offline dav

Overnight storage of CT
« Reply #11 on: August 30, 2013, 07:29:19 PM »
Try Poplar Tourist Park at Camden which is 15min drive from Campbelltown. Also there is Camden Caravans they do storage as well and it's 500meters from the van park so you could may be stay in a cabin if you don't want to stay in the camper at the park or leave it there. Where in Campbelltown is the wedding?

« Reply #12 on: August 30, 2013, 08:08:28 PM »
Set it up on the front lawn at the Bride n Grooms place   ;D

Offline GOLDIE

« Reply #13 on: August 30, 2013, 08:17:51 PM »
Mate your more than welcome to leave it at my house on the driveway. im at Scohfields 30 mims or so from cambelltown
Cheers, Ryano
Ready to Roll

2010 Goldstream Storm - 2006 Toyota Landcruiser GXL

Offline Squalo

• "Two Wheels Good"
« Reply #14 on: August 30, 2013, 10:50:47 PM »
Not sure if this could work for you, but if you stay at a pub that has a drive-through bottle shop, the drive-through is a perfect place to lock a camper trailer up for a night... I've done it lots of times with motorcycles when on weekends away. The drive-through is usually locked up by 10pm - and few places are as secure as a drive-through - and there's always someone around to open it up when you want to get away in the morning.
2007 Jimboomba Maddison Staircase
1995 GQ DX Patrol TD42

« Reply #15 on: August 31, 2013, 12:37:00 AM »
squalo is definitely thinking outside the box there !!

« Reply #16 on: August 31, 2013, 08:03:04 AM »
lts really a top idea park the CT in the bottle shop cab you do that at 10am when it opens  >:D :cheers:

Offline kenny

« Reply #17 on: August 31, 2013, 08:27:27 AM »
Not Kellie & Michael is it....... :cheers:

Offline Malcolm Tugless

• Are we there yet ?
« Reply #18 on: August 31, 2013, 08:28:30 AM »
Park it outside a police station, then report it stolen. The wallopers will impound it, you claim and collect next morning. After spending the night trapped inside the drive-in bottle shop with speewa. Missing the wedding was an added bonus ... considering the embarrassment free alcohol and drunken aunties can cause.

Overnight storage of CT
« Reply #19 on: August 31, 2013, 08:35:48 AM »

lts really a top idea park the CT in the bottle shop cab you do that at 10am when it opens  >:D :cheers:

Your idea of camping in heaven

Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!

« Reply #20 on: August 31, 2013, 08:40:50 AM »
We could burn the furniture as a camp fire & the CFA could bring the pizza later on when they turn up to put out the fire . At least there would be plenty of  :cheers: on hand  :cup:                 :cheers:

Offline camperd4d

• OVERALL MACHINE DEVELOPMENT
« Reply #21 on: August 31, 2013, 09:06:07 AM »
Theres a large kenards hire on airds road Im sure they will help you out.

yeh dont leave it in campbelltown though.

Also try camden caravans I think is there name at camden/eldeslie,they do store vans as well.

Worst case you can leave it in my driveway or front or back yard.

Im at Bargo NSW 20 mins south from Campbelltown.

« Last Edit: August 31, 2013, 09:09:57 AM by camperd4d »

Offline Goose

• Life turns on a dime.
« Reply #22 on: September 02, 2013, 09:22:19 AM »
Thanks everyone, especially for the personal offers. In the end we changed our plans so that we leave the camper at home and then come back for it Saturday.

For what its worth, I rang Kennards and they said take out 1 month of storage for $399 on Friday afternoon of the wedding, and then Saturday morning cancel the storage and get the pro-rata refunded of the 29 unused days. Ummm yea sounded iffy to me. A local independent storage place said the don't deal in periods of less than 1 month. 

While the bottleshop idea wins for creativity, I think Dav and CamperD4D's idea of asking the local caravan dealership was probably the best all round. This idea would probably work in most big towns and small cities around Australia and hopefully someone comes across this advice in the future and benefits from it:

Also there is Camden Caravans they do storage as well and it's 500meters from the van park

Offline aussieducker

Re: Re: Overnight storage of CT
« Reply #23 on: September 02, 2013, 09:39:51 AM »
Not sure if this could work for you, but if you stay at a pub that has a drive-through bottle shop, the drive-through is a perfect place to lock a camper trailer up for a night... I've done it lots of times with motorcycles when on weekends away. The drive-through is usually locked up by 10pm - and few places are as secure as a drive-through - and there's always someone around to open it up when you want to get away in the morning.
this sounds great, wonder if they mind if I put camper up and sleep in it aswell ....:D

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

2013 Ford Ranger
Lifestyle Reconn Hypercamper