Author Topic: Swap & Go  (Read 10363 times)

Re: Swap & Go
« Reply #25 on: December 24, 2017, 04:55:13 PM »

I'm led to believe that swap and go 9 kg. bottles aren't filled to capcity...... But.... my source could be wrong.....??????...... ??? ??? ???

I think you'll find they are filled by weight, not the bleed valve

« Reply #26 on: December 24, 2017, 04:56:48 PM »
wish I had everyone elses success.. I'm running at 100% failure.
Try again you big woose, and it'll drop to 50%

« Reply #27 on: December 24, 2017, 06:14:07 PM »
Unless it's out of date, why do some swap & go ??  Can refill a 4kg bottle for approx $12, but a swap & go is approx $18..

« Reply #28 on: December 25, 2017, 04:27:19 AM »
wish I had everyone elses success.. I'm running at 100% failure.

By now, at your age, you should be use to it I would've thought.

« Reply #29 on: December 25, 2017, 10:39:13 AM »
Bird, check you connection and make sure the rubber O ring or seal is intact

Never had a problem with Swap and Go. I find it easier to go to Bunnings than to find someone who will still refill, and be able to do it at a time that suits me.

I've got heaps of extra bottles. Hard rubbish supplied the out of date bottle and Bunnings did the swap

« Reply #30 on: December 25, 2017, 11:05:27 AM »
Quote from: gronk
Unless it's out of date, why do some swap & go ??  Can refill a 4kg bottle for approx $12, but a swap & go is approx $18..
It doesn't add up.. but Bunnings will sell you a new cylinder.. but they don't fill them - they do swap and go... LMAO N BBQ's galore were shut when I got there yesterday

Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
By now, at your age, you should be use to it I would've thought.

Offline Axl

« Reply #31 on: December 25, 2017, 11:45:20 AM »
The thought process around the filling of gas bottles changed/tightened up some time ago and for good reason. The main reason being that there is no standard/regulation that says in Australia a gas bottle must be this diameter and height. I always had my 4kg bottles for my soft floor camper trailer refilled as I now do with my 9kg caravan bottles.

I do this because of the difference in sizes, once you have a bottle that fits your bottle holders correctly you want to hold onto it. If you swap it the next bottle may be a different size and it may not fit the holder.

This link explains it well http://www.elgas.com.au/blog/398-are-bbq-gas-bottles-9kg-or-85kg
Cheers Axl

2010 14.44.3 OB Jayco Expanda
2018 Dual Cab LS-M Isuzu D-max
2013 Lifestyle Camper Trailers Explorer (Sold)

« Reply #32 on: December 25, 2017, 08:38:37 PM »

I do this because of the difference in sizes, once you have a bottle that fits your bottle holders correctly you want to hold onto it. If you swap it the next bottle may be a different size and it may not fit the holder.

That's exactly why I refill mine, as well as  for the cheaper price to do so !

« Reply #33 on: December 25, 2017, 09:03:15 PM »
Usually better to get the fill at a Hardware store, or Gas Agent.
Servo's usually charge the same price for a fill as a change-over.

« Reply #34 on: December 25, 2017, 09:26:20 PM »
Usually better to get the fill at a Hardware store, or Gas Agent.
Servo's usually charge the same price for a fill as a change-over.

Around our way, the servo ( not one of the big three ) charges $12.95 for a 4kg and BBQ's Galore charge as little as $10.

« Reply #35 on: December 25, 2017, 10:49:24 PM »
Around our way, the servo ( not one of the big three ) charges $12.95 for a 4kg and BBQ's Galore charge as little as $10.

Your extremely lucky then.
It definitely pays to shop around.

« Reply #36 on: December 25, 2017, 11:06:45 PM »
I went to Stratco to change over a gas bottle. $34.95, um no thanks. Bunnings do it for $23.95, can you match? OK no probs. They don't care about the date on the bottle either. Last week I was at Colli & Sons Hardware in Malaga, $22 swap and go for 8.5kg.

I used to be "bottle sensitive" and kept getting mine refilled. Then it became harder, less convenient and no difference in price. Now I just go for a bottle minimum 2 years in date. They all seem to fit my camper trailer  bottleholder.