Author Topic: Swap & Go  (Read 10364 times)

Offline suziq

Swap & Go
« on: June 12, 2011, 02:17:33 PM »
Hi Everyone,

I dare say this has been on the forum before but I will ask it again. We will be using a 4 kilo Swap & Go for our camp stove, what I am asking is can you swap the empty bottle at any outlet regardless of name or does it have to be a Swap & Go outlet.

Cheers Suziq

Offline singo-26

• Gone bush permanently!
Re: Swap & Go
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2011, 03:50:31 PM »
I've seen swap and go bottles at other providers so I would assume you can.

2001 HZJ105 and a custom rearfold softfloor.

« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2011, 04:24:49 PM »
I swap them anywere most servos do,nt even look at them  :cup:

Offline Mitch59

« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2011, 04:35:57 PM »
The only thing I have noticed is not all swap and go outlets have 4kg bottles, I went to one last year that did not keep 4kg bottles so they swapped mine to a 9kg.
Growing Old Disgracefully

Offline skog

« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2011, 09:04:17 PM »
I have never had any issues with exchanging the bottle at a different outlet

Offline carinya

• Nothing $30 million wouldn't fix
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2011, 09:37:25 PM »
I  love them.  Had an old bottle, 9kg ( it was actually in pounds ) apparently the old man reckoned it was leaking.  After an hour the only test date I thought i could find was maybe late 60's, couldn't be sure.  Cleaned it up, got home from work around midnight, had a beer and headed to the servo.  Old mate was near asleep at 1 am, didn't really want to be out in the frost, and swapped it without a worry.  I'm sure it became an Oz pig or similar.
MK Triton Dual Cab.
Cheap gal trailer with some stuff added.

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2011, 11:31:39 PM »
The only thing I have noticed is not all swap and go outlets have 4kg bottles, I went to one last year that did not keep 4kg bottles so they swapped mine to a 9kg.

sweet. do you think I could swap a 1.25Kg bottle for a 4.5? :D
Jon

CRD TD42TI Patrol - Ultimate Xtrk TBD

« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2011, 08:13:15 AM »
I have been told that what evre the brand thats handed in they will become Swap&Go whan they return to service . A quick paint & good to go , as long as its in test .  ;D

« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2017, 05:34:59 PM »
well after years of putting it off, cause I had my own good bottle, I went for swap and go....

Very easy to do, walked into servo, chick handed me the key, said just leave the empty one there..
So I did.

got home connected it all up, and now theres gas pissing out everywhere.. No BBQ tonight now

**** knows what sort of Shit fight I'll have with Ramjeet at the servo trying to explain the issue

Glad I went Swap and go. Highly recommend it to every **** I hate.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2017, 05:43:41 PM by Bird »

« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2017, 06:09:01 PM »
Find a gas tank at or almost in date . Chuck  it  in to Swap&go as an in test tank & be gone . Then its not your problem any more  .                          :cheers:

« Reply #10 on: December 23, 2017, 06:16:46 PM »
Find a gas tank at or almost in date . Chuck  it  in to Swap&go as an in test tank & be gone . Then its not your problem any more  .                          :cheers:
then what do I do with the never used before cylinder I paid for? Pay again? Lyke ****. Bunnings or somewhere to buy back my own cylinder .. Jam swap and go as far up ya **** as it'll go.

« Reply #11 on: December 23, 2017, 06:17:40 PM »
Must of swapped 20+ bottles over the years, never had a problem...

« Reply #12 on: December 23, 2017, 06:37:32 PM »

+1

Picked one up from Bunnings one day and as I was going to the car, realised it felt a bit light.

Took it back and swapped it out with no issue.

Maybe take it back and ask?  You never know, it might actually work...  at least you'd know for sure, instead of just swearing your head off every time you look at it...

Offline Hookie

« Reply #13 on: December 23, 2017, 06:50:07 PM »

Same. There must be millions of swap n go bottles in service at any given time and I've never heard of anyone getting a dud.

If you're particularly tight and not exceptionally scrupulous, you can go to the tip and grab an old junk cylinder and swap that. I know people who have done it. The cashier at the servo sure as hell doesn't want to inspect every tank that comes in for a swap.

« Reply #14 on: December 23, 2017, 06:57:16 PM »
well after years of putting it off, cause I had my own good bottle, I went for swap and go....

Very easy to do, walked into servo, chick handed me the key, said just leave the empty one there..
So I did.

got home connected it all up, and now theres gas pissing out everywhere.. No BBQ tonight now

**** knows what sort of Shit fight I'll have with Ramjeet at the servo trying to explain the issue

Glad I went Swap and go. Highly recommend it to every **** I hate.

1st mistake, going to a service station, they charge like wounded bulls, the BGS is about the cheapest
2nd mistake did you undo all the fittings, clean and reconnect them ?

You do know that it's a left hand thread on those fittings  >:D

« Reply #15 on: December 24, 2017, 03:26:31 AM »
Try connecting the hose on the BBQ to the bottle, that should stop the gas pissing out.

« Reply #16 on: December 24, 2017, 07:20:11 AM »
Try connecting the hose on the BBQ to the bottle, that should stop the gas pissing out.
That's just Silly  ,,, Gaffa Tape  & Fencing wire     that's the Go         :cup:    :cheers:

« Reply #17 on: December 24, 2017, 07:28:51 AM »

I'd be 100yrs old if I did that...... ;D

I wait till they are almost out of date, then swap for one that has at least 8yrs left......the ones I have now are good until 2021.......I reckon one more swap before I fall off the perch ????   ;D

« Reply #18 on: December 24, 2017, 07:37:01 AM »
I've still got a gas bottle with a 1988 expire date.
Last time I had it filled, the guy said.... in date?

Me: Oh, its out by a little bit.
Him, we'll be right.

going in to pay, so how far out is it?

Told him 29 years.

Him.... fukk

29 years and still works fine..... it comes with the caravan sale too, so some lucky bugger will score it.  ;D

« Reply #19 on: December 24, 2017, 08:19:23 AM »
Mate next door delivers gas bottles, so havent paid for gas for years.
When I did the back extension I put the built in bbq on mains gas. Heaps better never running out.

Offline MadMarv

« Reply #20 on: December 24, 2017, 10:22:13 AM »
Ive got two 9kg bottles and two 4.5kg bottles ..... only ever bought one 9kg one , i just found ones at work (scrap metal yard) to use for swap n go ... saves paying the approx $50 bucks for a new bottle that needs to be filled

Marv

« Reply #21 on: December 24, 2017, 10:40:39 AM »
wish I had everyone elses success.. I'm running at 100% failure.

Offline corndog

« Reply #22 on: December 24, 2017, 02:41:54 PM »
I always check the weight of bottles at Bunnings. Have been given light bottles that were empty and sealed straight from their racks. Also when I have a refill I check that the bleed valve has been closed properly. Have had a bottle filled and found when I went to use it the smell of gas and a 1/2 empty bottle.

« Reply #23 on: December 24, 2017, 02:58:45 PM »

I'm led to believe that swap and go 9 kg. bottles aren't filled to capcity...... But.... my source could be wrong.....??????...... ??? ??? ???

« Reply #24 on: December 24, 2017, 03:02:20 PM »
    At home, I get BBQ Galore to fill my 9kg and decant to an array of smaller cylinders.
Travelling, I decant from a 4.5kg to a 2kg spare, use the remainder till empty, swap to the 2kg till I can fill/swap the 4.5kg.
Rinse and repeat.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk