Author Topic: What Tyres Do You Roll On?  (Read 22025 times)

Offline Big Nath

• "hows ya bum for grubs"
What Tyres Do You Roll On?
« on: August 08, 2011, 11:39:01 AM »
Gday, this has probably been done in the past, But

What tyres do you all run on?

i roll on Cooper ST's. 255 75 16.

They replaced my Toyo AT. Personally i have loads more confidence in the dirt and also in the wet stuff.

And Road noise is comparable too!!

NAKED 2012 Pathfinder ST in Auto, Scan Guage, Polyair Airbags, 80CH Uniden UHF, Leisure Matters Camper!

Offline WogsRus

Re: What Tyres Do You Roll On?
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2011, 11:56:14 AM »
Had Cooper ATRs and did Ok but destroyed them fast. 40000K

Now have MTZ 4 rib, great tire in the mud and on the dirt, useless in the wet, 4wd drift everywhere.

Wear is Ok but will struggle to get 80K out of them.

Noise is acceptable. Certainly compared to my exhaust system
HAD 2007 NS GLX Pajero, 3.8L grunt, ex Cop,

NOW 50th Anniversary Simpson Edition Poootrol wit some fruit

"Speed doesn't kill. It's the sudden stop at the end"
"Live everyday as if it was your last, and some day it will"

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2011, 11:59:47 AM »
I would like to see a Poll attached to this thread if this was possible, with all the tyre brands listed as options.

My Patrol rolls on: BF Goodrich All-terrains (265R75.16) for highway touring
                        : BF Goodrich Mud-terrains (305R70.16) for off-road touring and play

My Camp-o-matic rolls on: BF Goodrich All-terrains (265R75.16) all the time.

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2011, 12:04:12 PM »
BFG, KM2 mud terrains.
35 x 12.5 x 15..........camper and car.
Traction on dirt / mud / rock /sand is excelent, but in the wet it's not hard to make them break out   >:D
Happy with the wear, been to the Cape twice and a fare amount of off road work, no chipping or cuts or flats.
Noise..............can't hear them for the motor  ;D

« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2011, 12:14:26 PM »
BFG's for the Navara all terrains 265/70 r16's  :cup:

« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2011, 12:20:11 PM »
BFG's KM2 muddys for Tassie. 285/75/16's

Offline Red Dog 4x4

« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2011, 12:27:40 PM »
BFG KM2s 33x12.5x15 for road and touring, and 35x12.5x15 Maxxis Creepy Crawlers for Play...

The Rig- 97 GQ Coil Cab with lots of goodies
The Trailer- 2002 Castaway camper with lots of mods....
Quad Build -http://cfmoto-forum.com/cforce-500-h-o/cforce-550ho-from-australia/

« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2011, 12:42:53 PM »
KL71 Kumho's
Most popular tyre in UnZud... also gainin a great rep in aussie too
http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/tyres-wheels-38/tyre-topic-kumho-kl71-29061/
« Last Edit: August 08, 2011, 12:46:09 PM by Lost »

Offline Fivid

« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2011, 01:01:05 PM »
BFG AT 265/70/17s for highway and limited off road use.
BFG Muds 285/75/16 for the more serious off road stuff!

http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2011, 01:06:45 PM »
BFG's KM2 muddys 285/75/16's were put on the Patrol just before the Cape trip this year. I'm wrapped in them. Not as noisy as I thought they would be. The traction is very good off road and very good on the dry blacktop. Waiting for some rain, to see what they are like driving on the wet blacktop.  

The CT has BFG 285/75/16 A/T.  They came off the patrol and straight onto the CT.

Offline Moto Mech

« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2011, 01:11:19 PM »
Cruiser runs on Wrangler Kevlars in 285/75-16 and camper runs Bridgestone MT 30x9.5-15.
ARB, the only gear for my Landcruiser 105
Red Earth Camper Trailer

« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2011, 01:11:35 PM »
Currently, 285/70R17 Mickey Thompson ATZ 4 Rib. Will go back to BFG Muddies when these wear out......

Offline Big Nath

• "hows ya bum for grubs"
« Reply #12 on: August 08, 2011, 01:15:38 PM »
Currently, 285/70R17 Mickey Thompson ATZ 4 Rib. Will go back to BFG Muddies when these wear out......

Not happy with them Teabag?

NAKED 2012 Pathfinder ST in Auto, Scan Guage, Polyair Airbags, 80CH Uniden UHF, Leisure Matters Camper!

« Reply #13 on: August 08, 2011, 01:21:05 PM »

32" Cooper ST Maxx.  The Man loves staring at them ???  They do look good on the ute.  And they are relatively quiet.

« Reply #14 on: August 08, 2011, 01:32:33 PM »
Not happy with them Teabag?

Yes and no. They have been good but still prefer when I had BFG Muddies....

Offline OffRoadDave

• If I think I can build it I will!
« Reply #15 on: August 08, 2011, 01:36:49 PM »
Currently 265/75 MickeyT MTZs but these are just about shot, not sure what I'll go with next to be honest, after the MTZ I am over tyre noise, but I do like the grip they give both offroad and on the tarmac, at this stage the next tyre will probably be BF KM2 muds unless I find a compelling reason to go with something else.

Racer

« Reply #16 on: August 08, 2011, 01:37:26 PM »
MT ATZ 5 RIB - Find them to be a great all round tyre.

Cooper CS4 Touring on the wife's soft roader

« Reply #17 on: August 08, 2011, 01:41:22 PM »
BFG KM2's, in probably the smallest size on this forum (245/75r16)  ;D. Love them. As the others have said, quiet on road, huge grip, bag out well, love to climb. Have done one wet season with them on, and wet weather grip was ridiculously good for such an open tread. Same tyres on the camper, same size, interchangeable with the car. So far, wearing very well.

The KM2's replaced a set of Maxxis ATs. If anything, I think I had a bit more confidence in fast, loose gravel with the AT's. The KM2's like to fling the gravel away and skate a bit whilst hunting/digging for grip. The AT's seemed to drive over the gravel a bit better. AT's were perfect in the sand too, but so far the KM2's are just as good in that regard, if not better.

I'm too lazy to have two sets of tyres  ;D

« Last Edit: August 08, 2011, 01:44:38 PM by Matto »

Offline Disco EMU

« Reply #18 on: August 08, 2011, 01:53:34 PM »
Pirrelli Scorpion ATR's.

No complaints for what they do which is 90% on-road. Pretty quiet, good in the wet, OK off-road ... at least compared with the diesel engine. Done around 15000kms so far and are just starting to show signs of wear.

http://www.productreview.com.au/p/pirelli-scorpion-atr.html

We'll see if I've changed my mind after our trip to Lake Eyre in September :D
Craig
2000 Landrover Discovery Series II TD5
2001 Jayco Finch

Offline camdyson

« Reply #19 on: August 08, 2011, 01:54:23 PM »
BFG AT 265/70/16 on the Prado and 245/70(?)/16 for the trailer if they ever arrive!....(265's not enough guard clearance sadly)

If BFG supply doesn't improve I won't use them again - one stuffed carcass and I'd be unable to replace, which is a worry.

Cam
Set your chickens free

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #20 on: August 08, 2011, 02:04:24 PM »
Just put a set of Cooper Discoverer ST Maxx 265/75/16 on the Hilux.
They look like a very good looking tyre with an extra heavy duty carcass.

Upgraded from Cooper ST in a 245/75/16.
The new ones are very quiet on the road compared to the oldies, plus they fill the front guard out much more.

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

« Reply #21 on: August 08, 2011, 02:13:34 PM »
I have used BFG ATs for over 10 years, and think they're fantastic! I was really surprised to read in 4wd Action that they came only 3rd or 4th in a comparo of AT tyres, with the Pirelli Scorpions 1st I think.

I've been getting 80,000 out of each set with ease, and 100K is possible though they're no good for 4wding by that stage.

I'm keen to try KM2s next.

« Reply #22 on: August 08, 2011, 02:14:16 PM »
We can add a poll. Let me lean on a few of you to list the tyres you want in it and I'll create it.

« Reply #23 on: August 08, 2011, 02:22:38 PM »
Bridgestone 31x10.5x15 D/Duelers 604v
Just on 80000k's on them now and have had them for 5 1/2 years.

« Reply #24 on: August 08, 2011, 02:25:17 PM »
Bridgestone 31x10.5x15 D/Duelers 604v
Just on 80000k's on them now and have had them for 5 1/2 years.

slicks with cut marks in them  :-*