Author Topic: G'day from the Mornington Peninsula  (Read 4858 times)

Offline MSkinner

G'day from the Mornington Peninsula
« on: November 13, 2012, 12:39:16 PM »

My name is Matt. I'm 33, or 34...something around there anyway. I've worked a number of jobs including mountain bike/snowboard shop manager, web master, snowboard instructor, brickie, concretor, and now IT analyst. Aside from the obvious, I also enjoy snowboarding, freeride/enduro mountain biking, photography, fishing and the occasional bottle of red, white, amber, and gold :cheers: I've been meaning to join this forum for some time now. Being that the wife and I are now starting to give more serious consideration to purchasing a camper I thought now was the time to sign up. Not just for the wealth of information here, but for what I could already tell was a great on and offline community!

I've been camping since as far back as I can remember. I have memories I cherish from my childhood of times spent camping on the Mornington peninsula during the school holidays for weeks on end, sunburn and locust plagues during summers in Yarrawonga, and hiking Halls Gap back when there were very little safety barriers anywhere. I spent the later years of my childhood in Canada where we had a 33ft caravan on the French River in Ontario but also tent camped a lot. I can still remember the first time I heard all sorts of noise outside my tent and looked out to see a dozen pairs of eyes belonging to as many skunks and raccoons going through the garbage we'd left out that night!

My wife and I have been tent campers up until now, spending most of our time exploring the Vic high country, Gippsland region, the Otways, and the coast anywhere we can. We rented our first camper trailer over Melbourne Cup weekend this year and as my wife will be happy to tell you, 'are never going back' to tents. We plan to rent a few different makes, models, and styles before deciding which one we'll be purchasing.

We get away in our 2002 4.8L Patrol with the 5-speed auto box on dual fuel. It's lifted 50mm, has 33in KM2's on 16in black steelies, extractors, exhaust, ARB winch bar, steel roof rack, 50L Waeco, Garmin topo, and other goodies. My favorite trip so far was the single vehicle trek my brother and I did from Mansfield to Dargo via the Pinnacles and Billy Goats Bluff. I will be a truly 'happy camper' when I arrive home after completing the Big Lap (one day!).

Anyway, I think that about does it. I look forward to my time here (of which I think there will be a lot as I'm in front of a pc all day!), hopefully offering advice where I can, and possibly meeting some of you in the offline world!

Offline Mandrake

• Triple Vaxed and ready to go ANYWHERE ( please )
Re: G'day from the Mornington Peninsula
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2012, 12:56:35 PM »
Welcome to Myswag Matt !!
Keep hiring until you find the one that suits you .. Then buy it and modify it to "really" suit you.. LOL
Thats what this site is all about ...
Mandrake
Going back to basics - sort of ...

« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2012, 01:01:21 PM »
Quote from: Mandrake
Keep hiring until you find the one that suits you .. Then buy it and modify it to "really" suit you.. LOL
Good advice.

« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2012, 05:18:25 PM »
G'day Matt,

As you have found, there are some great Swaggers here as well as a wealth of fantastic information.

« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2012, 05:37:37 PM »
welcome 2 the zoo matt & co.

Keep an eye out for xcavator down there, dont let him lead you astray.

Good idea to hire and see what suits.  Dont forget to think about the possibility of ruggrats.

Enjoy your stay.

« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2012, 07:13:09 PM »
Welcome to the show Matt and another From Bayside Melbourne, there are plenty of us. Good luck with it all and the tug sounds a beaut :worthles:

Cheers BD

« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2012, 07:28:45 PM »

hi Matt and welcome to My Swag

G'day from the Mornington Peninsula
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2012, 07:32:47 PM »
G'day & Welcome Matt

Your dream is one shared by many on here. Good luck in your search for a camper, there a plenty of quality campers available, and in our classifieds section too.

« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2012, 10:10:19 PM »
Welcome Matt.  I'm sure that perfect (for you) CT is just around the corner.  We spent almost 2 years making a decision.

The following users thanked this post: oldmate

« Reply #9 on: November 14, 2012, 12:17:19 PM »
Welcome to MySwag Matt

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2012, 03:46:30 PM »
Gday Matt, welcome to MySwag mate.

Heaps of info and friendly folk to be found around here. By the sounds of it, you'll fit right in!

Looks like you're a man of many hats too.......you didn't also happen to write a couple of books on wine as well did you? ;D (If so, then you'll definitely fit in!!)

Offline MSkinner

« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2012, 04:29:39 AM »
Thanks everyone for the warm welcome and tips on continuing to rent, buying, etc.

Gday Matt, welcome to MySwag mate.

Heaps of info and friendly folk to be found around here. By the sounds of it, you'll fit right in!

Looks like you're a man of many hats too.......you didn't also happen to write a couple of books on wine as well did you? ;D (If so, then you'll definitely fit in!!)

haha, no I haven't mate, although I am reading one of his books. I find it funny walking into 1st Choice Liquor and seeing my name all over the place. Perhaps I should try for a discount next time?  ;D

welcome 2 the zoo matt & co.

Keep an eye out for xcavator down there, dont let him lead you astray.

Good idea to hire and see what suits.  Dont forget to think about the possibility of ruggrats.

Enjoy your stay.

Cheers mate. Definitely something we're taking into account during our research.

Offline gurules

• GU 4.2TD AND TRACK TRAILER EAGLE
« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2012, 02:18:56 AM »
Welcome to Myswag Matt !!
Thats what this site is all about ...
Mandrake

x2  top advice  welcome
Never Ever Give up