Author Topic: Have you helped out a mate this week? Or someone.  (Read 20231 times)

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
Have you helped out a mate this week? Or someone.
« on: July 21, 2013, 08:45:41 PM »
Share your stories about helping others out, especially in the past week..

Most of us have customers and helping them out and charging them, then that doesnt count unless you go above and beond. This thread is more interested to hear if you have helped someone out for free or bartering.

Like fixed their car or built something for them or repaired a trailer..

Etc etc
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline Brumbypt

Re: Have you helped out a mate this week? Or someone.
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2013, 08:51:22 PM »
All wee i have finally been set loose on my mates rigs.
Hand brake mod,
Fuel door mod
Generally getting it close to a road worthy condition

Painted his offroad trailer, see pic

On his other 80, cleaned up and painted a second hand tjm rear bar, adapted and fabricated his old kaymar swing arm to fit the other side, so now he has a twin wheel carrier. Or jerry and wheel, depending what he wants to put there..

More to come as lots of work to do still..

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2013, 08:52:04 PM »
I do not know if it counts, but when I was about to get on the bus in Derby, there was a senior citizen having trouble dragging her bags to the bus.  I took the bags and gave them to the driver, then followed her up the stairs on the bus to make sure she did not fall back.  It surprised me that others did not offer to help her, some young teenagers were actually laughing at her struggling until I frowned at them.  That was last Monday evening.  I mst admit this same lady was in hospital at the same time as me, and we had shared a cuppa or two in the garden area.
I guess that is not in the right category, as most people would have done the same anyway.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2013, 08:58:21 PM by Tjupurula »

Offline toeball

« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2013, 08:53:25 PM »
I gave a pretty Lycra clad girl a lift home after she had a flat tyre..... does that count?  8)
I-zoo-zoo D-MAX and a Lifestyle Explorer + (+ more)

« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2013, 08:55:02 PM »
I spent 2 hours Thursday night unpacking and unbolting the 2 large toolboxes of my ute, so my wife's  boss could use it on the weekend. I have spent another 3 hours bolting and packing all my gear back in them this arvo ready for work in the morning. All good though, got a 6 pack of jimmy cans.  A bit more than 1 an hour

« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2013, 08:58:58 PM »
wasn't me doing the helping but a mate helping me out. went round to his place today and he worked on my 4wd for several hours doing some work i wanted done, this mate does the same thing for many members in our 4wd club and happily does it free of charge. he also is going to fix my computer for us soon (new hard drive etc), when it's all done i'll be buying a nice bottle of scotch for him to say thanks, that's for sure.

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2013, 09:09:46 PM »
Got a mate a load of pine offcuts for his wood heater. His wife like to re-create the tropics in the lounge room so therefore goes through a bit of wood! The pine is great for getting the fire going (or roaring!). Come to think about it, SWMBO is the same!  ;D
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2013, 09:49:57 PM »
Got a mate a load of pine offcuts for his wood heater. His wife like to re-create the tropics in the lounge room so therefore goes through a bit of wood! The pine is great for getting the fire going (or roaring!). Come to think about it, SWMBO is the same!  ;D

Yeah the pine in Wodonga was s#%t for sure. LOL

« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2013, 09:56:16 PM »
Thanks in advance to (andrew) lino 6 for collecting my roofrack this week to take to Wodonga. Thanks in advance to (nick) evolution for wiring up my truck, installing my cree light bars , ciggy plugs and Pioneer head unit. And having his mate weld some plates onto the roofrack  :cheers:

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2013, 10:05:15 PM »
Thanks in advance to (andrew) lino 6 for collecting my roofrack this week to take to Wodonga. Thanks in advance to (nick) evolution for wiring up my truck, installing my cree light bars , ciggy plugs and Pioneer head unit. And having his mate weld some plates onto the roofrack  :cheers:

Blimey Wayne, it looks like there is going to be a mini MySwag convention at your place soon.

« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2013, 11:39:53 PM »

I guess that is not in the right category, as most people would have done the same anyway.

Counts in my book as not as many people as you think would help out these days. Everyone sort of sticks to themselves in the cities.

I would like to think I would help out in these circumstances.

« Reply #11 on: July 21, 2013, 11:53:56 PM »
Tested and tagged a chippy mate's tools this week. Been doing it every 3 months for a year now, got a few years worth left.
He supplied materials and built an awesome cubby house for my girls.

Wired a bunch of lights and powerpoints at another mates house last weekend.
This weekend he helped rip out a door, install a new window and wall.

Bartering works well in my book.

Installed window locks, deadlock, washing machine and some hooks for my mum.
She made a friggin awesome dinner.
Geez that woman can cook...

Didn't make much money this week but got heaps done to make the missus happy haha!
« Last Edit: July 21, 2013, 11:55:53 PM by nab »

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
« Reply #12 on: July 22, 2013, 05:50:25 AM »
I do not know if it counts,
Sure does, you helped someone out ,  :cup:

And to everyone else as well  :cup: :cup: :cup:
And I'm giving a mate a lift to theaiport this morning,  because he owns a valiant I have had to give a few lifts,,,

« Reply #13 on: July 22, 2013, 07:24:10 AM »
Helped fellow members The Goodwins move house.
Gave their young bloke a lift to Soccer Saturday morning so they could move some gear, other members The Parkies helped with Babysitting their two little ones so they could pack.
After soccer we used Horse floats, car trailers, box trailers and packed boxes into the rear of our 4wd's.
Sunday I built a wire fence to keep their dogs in their new yard while they cleaned their old place. Fysh babysat the two little ones all day for them.
They are out of reach of the flood waters now, three floods in two months earlier in the year had become a little too much for them. Lifting their stuff and the all the mud left behind from the waters.
And they have bought their first home too, so they are off the rental roundabout.  ;D

« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2013, 07:54:50 AM »
And thanks to D4D on several occasions on wiring the truck and lending stuff.

Offline Spartan

« Reply #15 on: July 22, 2013, 11:06:07 AM »
Just got back from a trip to Winderabandi Point on Ningaloo Station where I managed to get bogged on the way in - twice in about half an hour!

A nice bloke next door named Roger gave me a hand getting out which really helped the holiday get off to a good start instead of me being on the shovel after dark worrying about the incoming tide.

I reckon about every second or third person coming in over the time we were there got bogged, so I payed Rogers favour forward and gave a few of them a hand getting out (and convincing them not to be embarrassed as every second person does it).

By the way, a lot of them getting bogged were Land Cruisers so I'm pretty happy that my bunky old Rodeo got us where we needed to go just the same as the $100k LandCruisers!
2011 Jayco Hawk Outback
2009 Holden Colorado LTR dual cab

Offline FNQBunyip

« Reply #16 on: July 22, 2013, 01:14:37 PM »
Got my neighbor's bullocks in on Saturday morning and drafted 6 out too put on the truck later that arvo , they are currently standing in the yards at the local show , before going to sale tomorrow ,lol

Hope he's happy with my selection.  He gets home this arvo ...

Offline Finners

• Sampling perfect tracks - racetrack or 4WD!
« Reply #17 on: July 22, 2013, 01:21:49 PM »
Searching for a lost colleague in the Blue Mountains. Back out there tomorrow.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-07-22/still-hope-for-man-missing-in-blue-mountains/4834468?section=nsw

Anyone in the Blue Mountains area - please do share with your network that Gary Tweddle is missing in the Leura area... if anyone heard or saw anything in the early hours of last Tuesday - please call Crime Stoppers urgently on 1800 333 000. Or of course stay vigilant for Gary if bushwalking in the area. Thanks.

- Finners
2012 Complete Campsite Fraser hard floor | 2012 Ford Ranger dual cab XLT 3.2 manual + too many mods - including nut behind wheel ;p

« Reply #18 on: July 22, 2013, 08:09:59 PM »
Does wiping my kids butt count. Poor bugger cant do anything at the moment while his right hand is in plaster. I am sure by the time the 6 weeks are over he will be a leftie

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #19 on: July 22, 2013, 08:19:04 PM »
Does wiping my kids butt count. Poor bugger cant do anything at the moment while his right hand is in plaster. I am sure by the time the 6 weeks are over he will be a leftie

I don't kniw, but helping me download phot's into a thread definitely counts.

« Reply #20 on: July 22, 2013, 08:33:36 PM »

I'm always helping the RSPCA by sharing the Lost Dogs posts for my area.  Haven't found one yet however.  I rescue, raise and rehome feral kittens as we find them at work.

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #21 on: July 22, 2013, 08:45:55 PM »
Did some more work on my mates rear bar. Wired up the lights and trailer plug..
Then fitted the spare to the new left hand wheel swing to notice that the other is is too close to be able to fit another spare.. Looks like i will be on the angle grinder again tomorrow.. Then the welder..

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
« Reply #22 on: July 22, 2013, 11:42:27 PM »
Sent a small care spare package to Fuji  ;D

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

« Reply #23 on: July 23, 2013, 02:46:05 AM »
Sent a small care spare package to Fuji  ;D

And I recieved them at work today. Many thanks to Ranger Tim for sharing his things with me. ;D

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #24 on: July 23, 2013, 06:32:02 PM »

Thanks for your payment, real tea is just better than the tea bag stuff!  :cheers:
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)