Author Topic: Anyone else get attached to their cars?  (Read 13797 times)

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
Re: Anyone else get attached to their cars?
« Reply #25 on: March 13, 2014, 07:10:13 AM »
I wish there was a 'like' button. Great stories there :cup:

Glad to know I'm not a freak, or if so, that I've got company ;D :cheers:

As for Monty's misadventure, Monty unfortunately drowned :(

We were only out for a little afternoon trundle, not 10mins from home, and within 20m of the end of the track, when the last puddle sort of...swallowed us :-X
Django - 2009 Land Rover Defender 110 SVX
Marvin - Land Rover Discovery 4
Black Betty - 2007 Range Rover Sport
Bamm Bamm - 2009 Mountain Trail Extended Expedition

Misadventure 4WD http://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOGilmore
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Misadventure-4WD-TV/243025632464631

« Reply #26 on: March 13, 2014, 08:38:45 AM »
I wish there was a 'like' button. Great stories there :cup:

Glad to know I'm not a freak, or if so, that I've got company ;D :cheers:

As for Monty's misadventure, Monty unfortunately drowned :(

We were only out for a little afternoon trundle, not 10mins from home, and within 20m of the end of the track, when the last puddle sort of...swallowed us :-X

Oh dear sorry to see that.

What are you guys going to replace him with?

Offline Kris

« Reply #27 on: March 13, 2014, 11:26:48 AM »
I'm rather attached to my Luxy.  After putting a lot of effort into getting it up to where we wanted it for touring, she's now getting a few too many KMs on it.... so rather than forking out more big bickies, I got a cheap 2nd car for runabouting, and Luxy get's to go out for the good stuff only!

So sorry to hear of Monty's drowning.  I love reading your trip reports, and Monty played a starring role!

RIP Monty  :angel: , and looking forward to seeing what new Misadventures will come with the newest addition to the clan!
2006 Hilux SR towing 1999 Kimberley Kamper

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #28 on: March 13, 2014, 12:51:55 PM »
Our Isuzu MU called the Blue Moooo 13 years of ownership, imported for us from Japan. Was pulled up at the local shops one day and this chap asked if it was for sale, I said no and it would be going in the hole with me when I go, he said where you getting buried  :D ;D I was going to sell her, but as long as I can pay the rego we will keep her, unless I am offered a lot a lot of money  ;D
« Last Edit: March 13, 2014, 02:34:22 PM by Isuzumu »
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

Offline meimarocu

« Reply #29 on: March 13, 2014, 01:30:44 PM »
Yes I understand how it happens.
I keep threatening to sell our GQ patrol,that we have had for over 8'yrs now.
How ever , when we look at family trip photo's there is this white patrol somewhere
In the back ground.the kids call it "truck", wife & I call it " the tractor"
She has taken us half way around oz and back ,so guess she's family now.  ;D
We also have a bamboo colour 1973 KE20 corolla that we call "peanut".(which is about to be sold)

Ian

« Reply #30 on: March 13, 2014, 02:00:53 PM »
Our Isuzu MU called the Blue Moooo 13 years of ownership, imported for us from Japan. Was pulled up at the local shops one day and this chap asked if it was for sale, I said no and it would be going in the hole with me when I go, he said where you getting buried  :D ;D I was going to sell her, back as long as I can pay the rego we will keep her, unless I am offered a lot a lot of money  ;D
Thats a grouse looking unit :cheers:

Offline Dingo0163

• The original Aussie mongrel
« Reply #31 on: March 13, 2014, 02:01:51 PM »
Not a 4x4 , but I've had my baby for 17 years. She is a cherry red 66 pillar less Chevy Impala. Her name is  Christine. SHWBO has got a 2013 Colorado   After we put on a bonnet protector , she said it looks like one of my mates who has a monobrow. So it's name is Harry.  ;D

« Reply #32 on: March 13, 2014, 02:04:33 PM »
Not a 4x4 , but I've had my baby for 17 years. She is a cherry red 66 pillar less Chevy Impala.

Offline Redcherokee

« Reply #33 on: March 13, 2014, 08:52:23 PM »
Was so sad when Avinash ( Indestructable  ) was traded in.  It had to happen. Sadly he had taken to stopping at the most unfortunate times, like on the highway.  Despite being fixed, he was no longer trustworthy. And his new cR warranty was up.

But now we have Tigger  ;D.  A baby brother for Winnie (the poo).   It's like when your cat dies and you eventually get a new one. Sadness and happiness together. 

No emotional attachment.  They are just machines.

Jeep Rubicon SWB 2013. Outback Campers Sturt 2011
4.2L Patrol and Billabong Grove 16 hard roofed camper.

« Reply #34 on: March 13, 2014, 09:20:58 PM »
I am somewhat attached to the Prado, however I really regret selling my first German. She was the last of that shape, up spec'd with the TT engine, full mechanical quattro and used to fly.

That and the 4 motion vw were the only cars I used to get a bit nervous about when I pulled up to one at traffic lights when I had the wrx.
The wrx was line ball pace wise but more nimble through traffic, just.

« Reply #35 on: March 13, 2014, 09:27:02 PM »
Now of got my 80. No real name. Maybe  "Bro of Frank" ;D

What about "Ernest"....... ;D ;D

« Reply #36 on: March 13, 2014, 09:40:16 PM »
Our Isuzu MU called the Blue Moooo 13 years of ownership, imported for us from Japan. Was pulled up at the local shops one day and this chap asked if it was for sale, I said no and it would be going in the hole with me when I go, he said where you getting buried  :D ;D I was going to sell her, but as long as I can pay the rego we will keep her, unless I am offered a lot a lot of money  ;D
R they convo pro's!!

Offline Jason B

• "Mark Goldie recovery team coordinator"
  • 80 Series Turbo DX Cruiser, Kimberley Kamper 2013 SE
« Reply #37 on: March 13, 2014, 09:41:53 PM »
That and the 4 motion vw were the only cars I used to get a bit nervous about when I pulled up to one at traffic lights when I had the wrx.
The wrx was line ball pace wise but more nimble through traffic, just.

I used to luv the look on the Rex boys faces when I would drive away from them at the lights or around them on the twisty bits. Most of them had no idea what rounded them up!

Gave quite a few bikes a scare in its day also.

>:D

« Reply #38 on: March 14, 2014, 10:19:01 AM »
Yep "Vera" the prado and "Zoe" the Dmax i am a scify nerd so if you have ever seen firefly you will get it

I do like the dmax but still recon the 120 series prado was the best car i ever owned

Offline JU5T1N

« Reply #39 on: March 16, 2014, 09:22:27 PM »

I am somewhat attached to the Prado, however I really regret selling my first German. She was the last of that shape, up spec'd with the TT engine, full mechanical quattro and used to fly.

was D4D moonlighting as the original Transporter???

Nissan whore:
Nissan Patrol GUramax (Stripped by ADC)
Nissan Skyline R33 GTR V-spec 480awkw
Nissan Skyline R34 GTR M-spec 830awkw (NOW SOLD)

« Reply #40 on: March 16, 2014, 09:38:17 PM »
as much as i like my Cruiser, i can't say i get attached to my vehicles and most certainly have never named any of them. I don't even have any photos of some of my previously owned vehicles, which looking back now i kind of regret. By the time i get rid of something it's not worth owning anyway, it's usually caused me enough problems i'm glad to see the back of it...lol

Offline Fathom

« Reply #41 on: March 17, 2014, 06:33:28 AM »

as much as i like my Cruiser, i can't say i get attached to my vehicles and most certainly have never named any of them. I don't even have any photos of some of my previously owned vehicles, which looking back now i kind of regret. By the time i get rid of something it's not worth owning anyway, it's usually caused me enough problems i'm glad to see the back of it...lol
Hmm I have seen you sitting round a campfire after a couple of sherbies staring at it with love in your eyes...
:)  ;)
Always give 100%... Unless you are giving blood.. then it may not go so well...

« Reply #42 on: March 17, 2014, 06:41:55 AM »
I love my Snowmobile. 8)

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #43 on: March 17, 2014, 09:51:33 AM »
By the time i get rid of something it's not worth owning anyway, it's usually caused me enough problems i'm glad to see the back of it...lol
Mental note: never buy a used vehicle anything from Rumpig ;D
« Last Edit: March 17, 2014, 09:54:21 AM by gclan »
Django - 2009 Land Rover Defender 110 SVX
Marvin - Land Rover Discovery 4
Black Betty - 2007 Range Rover Sport
Bamm Bamm - 2009 Mountain Trail Extended Expedition

Misadventure 4WD http://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOGilmore
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Misadventure-4WD-TV/243025632464631

« Reply #44 on: March 17, 2014, 10:20:03 AM »
Guilty of both to be honest.
I've been happy to see a few gone,
But have been over attached to a few.
Had 3 Kombi's, Shall get another 78 model 1 day soon.
Had 2 x Troopies, 2nd now.
Had a Datsun Stanza as an apprentice, I got it going faster than all the V8's around me at the time.
My 5 speed XF ute was the best, I was living in Cairns and my Mum was Terminally Ill at the time, I used to drive to Southern end of Sydney from Cairns in 26 hours. Oh the stupid things we do in our single days. Cruise Control set to 140, and blitz it. Never drove at Dusk after I compressed the left front chassis 6 inches when hitting a roo at full cruising speed. Will never forget it, he didn't miss a step, and kept going for miles.
To fix the Ol Girl, I just made an extension bracket for 1 side of the Alloy Roo bar at a near by farmers place next morning, steering - suspension etc were fine. It also had the stereo to die for, once went past a mate near Bowen at speed, he later told me the music is was playing.....

Offline RedDmaxxx

• HAVAHEART
« Reply #45 on: March 17, 2014, 06:52:09 PM »
Yeah our ute is a member of our family ;D  his names Bob.........but sometimes,..when im feeling abit emotional...I call him "The Big Fella"
Check out Lyn's blog -
http://lynandgreggreatozadventure.tumblr.com

« Reply #46 on: March 17, 2014, 06:57:52 PM »
Hmm I have seen you sitting round a campfire after a couple of sherbies staring at it with love in your eyes...

Lmao. I've seen that too.

Me. A car is just that to me. A car

« Reply #47 on: March 17, 2014, 07:14:01 PM »
just looking at my reflection in the mirror is all  ;) ;D ;D