Author Topic: Bushfire Season 2014/15  (Read 22389 times)

Re: Bushfire Season 2014/15
« Reply #25 on: November 15, 2014, 05:00:04 PM »
It's not that they have stopped, it's just bloody harder to get them done with all the crap red tape, take about 2 yrs to get approval, not like the old days, we would send into council an application, couple weeks it would come back, and we would notify residents. Get in get it done get out..

« Reply #26 on: November 15, 2014, 06:33:10 PM »
It's not that they have stopped, it's just bloody harder to get them done with all the crap red tape, take about 2 yrs to get approval, not like the old days, we would send into council an application, couple weeks it would come back, and we would notify residents. Get in get it done get out..
correct.. we had it the same... now its almost like too much effort..

Offline avotrol

« Reply #27 on: November 15, 2014, 08:28:18 PM »
Particularly at this time of year, its VERY important to check that your house is NOT under insured. Up to one third of properties are actually under insured  ???

I do a lot of jobs for a builder who specializes in insurance work, and I have seen MANY a case where due to being under insured, people were unable to rebuild without having to savagely up their borrowings. In fact, we have a job going right now in the Blue Mountains where the people lost their home in last years October fires, only to find out they were under insured by $200000  :'(  In their case, the insurance company payed them out and they have heavily re-financed to replace the home they lost.

Even if your house is partially damaged and not a total write off, if you are under insured you will have to come up with the balance before the insurer will authorize any repairs, other than those required for a "make safe" (install props, tarps etc). Eg: if your house total replacement cost is $500000 and you have it insured for $400000, it is 20% under insured. If the repair bill comes to $200000, then the insurer  will only pay $160000 (80%) making you pay the $40000 (20%) difference  >:(.

I know this is a little off topic but considering the bush fire season threat and how many people may and do get caught in this trap, I would hate to say nothing and then hear of a member (or anyone else) finding out the hard way. Just think of the CT you could buy because you had the correct level of insurance and didn't need to borrow to fix your house  >:D

:cheers: avo

PS: I have my house actually 5 - 10% OVER insured to account for rising costs and other factors out of my control. For the small amount of money, it sure is piece of mind, as I shudder when I think of all the jobs I have been involved with where the unfortunate people could not rebuild.
GU Patrol with home away from home.

« Reply #28 on: November 15, 2014, 08:32:56 PM »
Bring back the controlled burn off or for the more politically correct, hazard reduction or hazard mitigation burns to help reduce the hot bushfires that have been seasonally happening since burn offs were stopped.

There is a great catalyst program on this;

http://www.abc.net.au/catalyst/stories/4014144.htm

There is also some research that that program alludes to but was a program on its own that is suggesting that the forest just be left to itself so when it catches it burns and is not put out.  I think this they are talking about getting back to how the land was naturally before we started managing fire.  So I imagine there would be lots of fires all over the place quite frequently but cooler.  Not sure how they would manage getting it back to how it was 200 yrs ago?

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #29 on: November 15, 2014, 08:39:35 PM »
Particularly at this time of year, its VERY important to check that your house is NOT under insured. Up to one third of properties are actually under insured  ???

I do a lot of jobs for a builder who specializes in insurance work, and I have seen MANY a case where due to being under insured, people were unable to rebuild without having to savagely up their borrowings. In fact, we have a job going right now in the Blue Mountains where the people lost their home in last years October fires, only to find out they were under insured by $200000  :'(  In their case, the insurance company payed them out and they have heavily re-financed to replace the home they lost.

Even if your house is partially damaged and not a total write off, if you are under insured you will have to come up with the balance before the insurer will authorize any repairs, other than those required for a "make safe" (install props, tarps etc). Eg: if your house total replacement cost is $500000 and you have it insured for $400000, it is 20% under insured. If the repair bill comes to $200000, then the insurer  will only pay $160000 (80%) making you pay the $40000 (20%) difference  >:(.

I know this is a little off topic but considering the bush fire season threat and how many people may and do get caught in this trap, I would hate to say nothing and then hear of a member (or anyone else) finding out the hard way. Just think of the CT you could buy because you had the correct level of insurance and didn't need to borrow to fix your house  >:D

PS: I have my house actually 5 - 10% OVER insured to account for rising costs and other factors out of my control. For the small amount of money, it sure is piece of mind, as I shudder when I think of all the jobs I have been involved with where the unfortunate people could not rebuild.

This can happen when giving an amount for contents insurance as well people don't think to check this as they purchase new things etc.

« Reply #30 on: November 15, 2014, 09:08:12 PM »
There is a great catalyst program on this;

http://www.abc.net.au/catalyst/stories/4014144.htm

There is also some research that that program alludes to but was a program on its own that is suggesting that the forest just be left to itself so when it catches it burns and is not put out.  I think this they are talking about getting back to how the land was naturally before we started managing fire.  So I imagine there would be lots of fires all over the place quite frequently but cooler.  Not sure how they would manage getting it back to how it was 200 yrs ago?

Yeah, prior to 200 yrs ago the aboriginals did regular burning off to maintain and control their environment

« Reply #31 on: November 15, 2014, 09:15:27 PM »
Yeah, prior to 200 yrs ago the aboriginals did regular burning off to maintain and control their environment

Yes but us white man are what makes a wildfire the problem.

« Reply #32 on: November 15, 2014, 09:20:37 PM »

At a premium of $3600 p/a for home insurance plus the contents insurance on top of this the buggers better pay up if the worst happens, been lucky with the 3 fires that we have experienced since 1994.

Offline Talawana5

« Reply #33 on: November 15, 2014, 09:25:08 PM »
Great photos BroadysGU every one keep alert and safe.

« Reply #34 on: November 15, 2014, 09:27:02 PM »
Yes but us white man are what makes a wildfire the problem.

Yep all because someone didn't like the idea of control burn offs and the vegetation should be allowed to grow naturally.  Now we have seasonal hot bushfires and with the continued encroachment into the bushland there is more damage done.

Offline avotrol

« Reply #35 on: November 15, 2014, 09:43:02 PM »
At a premium of $3600 p/a for home insurance plus the contents insurance on top of this the buggers better pay up if the worst happens, been lucky with the 3 fires that we have experienced since 1994.

Best to check your policy rags, as they will pay up but only to the amount insured, and if its a partial loss and you are under insured then you really could be in trouble!

This is one policy where you REALLY need to read the fine print and do an annual review. Boring? yes, but it suddenly gets real interesting when the fires are at your back fence (or the chips oil is boiling over or a tree just fell on your roof).

GU Patrol with home away from home.

« Reply #36 on: November 15, 2014, 09:45:08 PM »
Yep all because someone didn't like the idea of control burn offs and the vegetation should be allowed to grow naturally.  Now we have seasonal hot bushfires and with the continued encroachment into the bushland there is more damage done.

Yeah mate, preaching to the choir here.

« Reply #37 on: November 15, 2014, 10:08:39 PM »
Red tape guys still haven't learnt anything from this In the blue mountains. I was on the 3rd truck to arrive to this fire on the bells line of rd. spent most of the next 2 weeks between bilpin or springwood.

Small | Large

The guy in the yellows with the Hilux with the flames in behind him, a long time family freind, we were just on the other side of those flames, with the guy you can hear yelling down the radio to get out.  Scariest day I have ever had in my life.  Later that night we got caught in another fire storm.
« Last Edit: November 15, 2014, 10:12:46 PM by oldmate »

« Reply #38 on: November 18, 2014, 09:34:13 PM »
Went to creeping grass fire today . Some Old Mate was cutting up scrap metal in a paddock of dry grass , & off it went . 6 tankers & 4 Ultra lights in a boggy paddock . What could possibly go wrong . Sorted quickly then home . Thankfully they have invented  :cheers:.

Offline raider

« Reply #39 on: December 15, 2014, 09:30:34 PM »
Gee , sirens going off everywhere at the moment. Got a watch and act for West Wodonga out Evo's way and I think there is one in Baranduda. Just had a downpour so hope that helped but doesn't sound good for West Wodonga in the morning with strong winds expected overnight and it going in a easterly direction. I think Evo's probably safe but it won't be far away and embers could be a worry with quite a bit of vacant grassland about. Lightning storm was unbelievable.
Don't live a life of going-to-do's and die with nothing done

Offline raider

« Reply #40 on: December 16, 2014, 05:21:28 PM »
Coming home yesterday the fire had not long started and was obviously not that big but going to work this morning I couldn't believe how much it had spread. Coming home this arvo I was greeted by black hills and the planes and helicopters firebombing. Can't smell any smoke where we are even though the wind is blowing our way so hopefully it is under control. We have 100 acres at Woomargama backing onto the National park and got a call from a neighbour to say that there is a fire at the other end of the park. Hopefully the wind keeps it away from my old land rover that we have sitting up there.
Don't live a life of going-to-do's and die with nothing done

« Reply #41 on: December 16, 2014, 05:29:46 PM »
horrible conditions here at moment with the wind... I'd hate to be out in the field

Be safe dude.

« Reply #42 on: December 16, 2014, 05:43:50 PM »
looks like its going to be a busy night

« Reply #43 on: December 16, 2014, 05:44:34 PM »
looks like its going to be a busy night
you ok up there dude??? your welcome to come here if you need to.

« Reply #44 on: December 16, 2014, 05:45:38 PM »
All good here mate at the moment

« Reply #45 on: December 16, 2014, 05:48:14 PM »
just listening to the scanner there putting strike teams together out at Melton to head up north of Lancefield
« Last Edit: December 16, 2014, 05:51:46 PM by Brett B »

« Reply #46 on: December 16, 2014, 06:36:19 PM »
First fire patrol of the year today. All quiet.

« Reply #47 on: December 16, 2014, 06:40:15 PM »
First fire patrol of the year today. All quiet.
and that's a good thing !

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #48 on: December 16, 2014, 06:42:39 PM »
Hope they aren't getting this wind in Wodonga this evening.
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Offline dales133

« Reply #49 on: December 16, 2014, 07:58:44 PM »
Blowing it's tips off in Mohawk mayor town. Be careful crew.