Author Topic: Fridge slide, pivots 90 degrees help!  (Read 16356 times)

Offline Mitch92

Fridge slide, pivots 90 degrees help!
« on: February 25, 2016, 12:05:35 PM »
Gday

Chasing it can't find the thread I've seen of someone who had a fridge that slides out of the tailgate of the camper, then pivots 90 degrees to be perpendicular to the trailer. I hope that makes sense, tried searching but can't find it
The following users thanked this post: Annieandandy

Offline Hefty

Re: Fridge slide, pivots 90 degrees help!
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2016, 12:50:31 PM »
I had one in my old camper. It was a Camel Beachcomber. I'm pretty sure Camel sell them as a retro-fit? Or you can also buy all the parts you need to make one from https://www.ovesco.com.au/ . I built a set of storage drawers to fit on mine because my fridge was too tall to fit in the camper.
I had it in the camper classifieds on here last year some time but I just checked and the ad has been removed after being marked sold.

Sorry I can't be of much more help.
Jono.
"Roads?!...Where we're going we don't need roads!"

Offline Hefty

« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2016, 01:09:14 PM »
Or was it this thread?
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=45229.0
Just stumbled across it in the "my camper build" section.

cheers,
Jono.
"Roads?!...Where we're going we don't need roads!"

Offline Liege

« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2016, 02:51:19 PM »
I didn't click on the links above to check what they showed. But I have a new camel beachcomber with slide and 90 degree pivot in it. THe trailer is new and only been used for one night so far so I have no photos handy. I could go and get you some if you need me to.
2013 Landrover Defender 110
2005 Goldstream Crown offroad

Gunbarrel Hway - 2010        Gibb River Rd - 2010        CSR - 2013        Cape York - 2014        Simpson Desert - 2017        Simpson, Tanami, Gibb - 2018

Offline feisty

« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2016, 04:36:50 PM »
Dunn and Watson do one.

https://youtu.be/UnJtdpELNZ0
Feisty
Sahara 100TD & Pioneer Argyle

Offline Mitch92

« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2016, 05:04:19 PM »
I didn't click on the links above to check what they showed. But I have a new camel beachcomber with slide and 90 degree pivot in it. THe trailer is new and only been used for one night so far so I have no photos handy. I could go and get you some if you need me to.

Liege, mate that would be greatly appreciated, as the more pics the better the idea I'll have.

And thanks guys, was exactly what I was after.

Offline Liege

« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2016, 06:25:53 PM »

Gunbarrel Hway - 2010        Gibb River Rd - 2010        CSR - 2013        Cape York - 2014        Simpson Desert - 2017        Simpson, Tanami, Gibb - 2018

Offline Mitch92

« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2016, 07:37:55 PM »

Thank you, that's exactly what I am wanting to do. Thanks for going to the effort of grabbing those pictures.

I'm looking to do it but with a kitchen not a fridge.

Offline mato

« Reply #9 on: March 01, 2016, 06:47:40 PM »
Woh
Thats a good idea. I like that
Also looks like it could be easly removeable.
Mitch i would love to see your build up

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

Offline deetee

• GIC Alpha with 100series T/Diesel tug
« Reply #10 on: March 03, 2016, 05:08:03 PM »
MDC do one which I'm about to fit to my camper ( GIC Alpha ) $900. Might have to trim my drawer a tad to get it to fit but hey you gotta do what you gotta do. Looks the same as the pic s above.

Offline mato

« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2016, 05:35:11 PM »
Deetee
I would love to see some picturs if you doing the install?

Offline Mitch92

« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2016, 08:39:54 PM »
Woh
Thats a good idea. I like that
Also looks like it could be easly removeable.
Mitch i would love to see your build up

Will definitely do pictures for you mate.

Offline Redcans

« Reply #13 on: March 05, 2016, 11:09:47 AM »
thats exactly what im in the process of doing now, well in the planning stage ;D
Liege can i ask how they made the slide so it doesn't slide straight out the back of your trailer once you have pulled it out?
this is the only part i cant work out.
and do you think it will be important to have the fridge supported once it has pivoted 90 degrees?
i can't wait to do this to my Johnnos camper before the gibb in July 8) 8) 8)
2009 Hilux & a 2015 Johnnos tourer
even chuck norris could't break that combo!

Offline mato

« Reply #14 on: March 05, 2016, 11:20:11 AM »
I think a removable one would be a good one. But i wouldnt have too. But i would think a support would depend on how heavy it is. But still a goid idea i think

« Reply #15 on: March 05, 2016, 12:22:11 PM »
thats exactly what im in the process of doing now, well in the planning stage ;D
Liege can i ask how they made the slide so it doesn't slide straight out the back of your trailer once you have pulled it out?
this is the only part i cant work out.
and do you think it will be important to have the fridge supported once it has pivoted 90 degrees?
i can't wait to do this to my Johnnos camper before the gibb in July 8) 8) 8)

I am also in the planning and acquiring bits stages, am going to try and DIY the track part as well to keep the costs down but there will probably be a fair bit of trial and error involved, I like the idea of attaching some draws to the back section as well that come to the back of the trailer as the fridge comes out as well.

To stop it coming all the way out I were just thinking of a extra bit of steel protruding either  above or below the RHS section and removable bolt/pin/pad for it to catch against.   

Offline Redcans

« Reply #16 on: March 05, 2016, 12:28:23 PM »
Yep. I like the idea of the drawers behind the fridge too, unfortunately I don't have enough room with my cfx 50 :(
Going to be a fair bit of trial and error from me too. But that's half the fun, drinking beers building stuff. 
I
Your going to DIY the tracks too, that's pretty keen I reckon.  I like your lies for stopping it from sliding out. the KISS method is always the best!

2009 Hilux & a 2015 Johnnos tourer
even chuck norris could't break that combo!

« Reply #17 on: March 05, 2016, 01:17:48 PM »
Thank you, that's exactly what I am wanting to do. Thanks for going to the effort of grabbing those pictures.

I'm looking to do it but with a kitchen not a fridge.
Mitch, If your looking to do a slide and swing kitchen then look at how Aussie Swag do it, theirs is very well thought out

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk

Offline mato

« Reply #18 on: March 05, 2016, 01:34:01 PM »
https://youtu.be/6F-3q04V7a4
Here you go

Offline Mitch92

« Reply #19 on: March 05, 2016, 02:04:39 PM »
Hard to see in that video how they actually do it, but looks good

Offline Liege

« Reply #20 on: March 05, 2016, 06:19:30 PM »

They bolt a L brackt on top of the square runner frame, that hits the trailer before the runners exit the track. In this photo it is pretty much directly up from the cig lighter above the bolt.

« Reply #21 on: March 05, 2016, 07:22:23 PM »
They basically have a frame at the back of the kitchen unit that is on two heavy drawer slides, at the front right hand corner of the frame is a post for the hinges this is braced to the back, the front left hand side of the frame and also diagonally. This single post supports the whole kitchen while it is being pulled in and out, when in from memory the kitchen sits on nylon slides and when out and turned there is a support bracket on  the side of the camper. You can see the hinge at about the seven second point of the video.

Quick ruff as guts drawing

[

« Reply #22 on: March 05, 2016, 08:59:59 PM »
Your going to DIY the tracks too, that's pretty keen I reckon.

Not trying to reinvent the wheel, just trying to copy it as much as able with off the shelf bits
For the channel I am using this

From here http://www.bunnings.com.au/matrix-1815-x-915-x-28mm-charcoal-c-channel-frame-kit_p3041120#

And some of these (CF8/KR19)

From here http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/141741542061?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

And one of these cut up to make"tyres" for the bearings

From here http://www.bunnings.com.au/pope-16-x-70mm-clear-vinyl-tubing-joiner_p3130586

It all seems to look like it should work (sliding bearings up and down the channel as I write this) but only time will tell. Ill either save myself $250 or cost myself $60 if I can't make it all work.

« Reply #23 on: March 05, 2016, 09:31:35 PM »
Liege are your tracks attached directly to the side or are the tracks attached to an extra frame, pictures I have seen it the past seem to have had some kind of extra frame but cant seem to see it on yours.

Offline Liege

« Reply #24 on: March 06, 2016, 06:29:28 AM »
Liege are your tracks attached directly to the side or are the tracks attached to an extra frame, pictures I have seen it the past seem to have had some kind of extra frame but cant seem to see it on yours.

mine are directly to the side of the trailer