Author Topic: Camel Campers bought by MDC  (Read 22564 times)

Offline wakychapmans

Camel Campers bought by MDC
« on: October 19, 2016, 11:26:11 AM »
ummm ok...

https://www.campertraileraustralia.com.au/news-events/news/1610/mdc-buys-out-aussie-made-camel-campers

"Camel Campers will stay Aussie-made under the MDC banner after being bought out by the RV importer.
Buyers will soon be able opt for a locally-made Camel-branded camper at any MDC showroom Australia-wide, following MDC Camper Trailers and Offroad Caravans' (MDC) purchase of the proud Aussie brand.

Camel Campers, which has operated since 1999, went into receivership earlier this year and was subsequently bought out by RV importer MDC.

MDC managing director Vaughan Hindley said the investment by MDC will create a "one-stop-shop" where enthusiasts can choose a camper that "resonates with them," emphasising that all Camel-branded camper trailers sold alongside MDC offerings will remain wholly Australian made.

"We have invested heavily in the people and the machinery that has made this brand iconic over its 19 years of operation," Hindley explained.

Both companies will operate from MDC’s manufacturing facility about 11km south of Brisbane city in Coopers Plains.

"Our goal through the size of our already-established distribution network is to increase the Camel Campers brand market share and take it to the next level in conjunction with our MDC offering," Hindley said.

MDC will manufacture, distribute and promote of Camel Campers while also retaining a number of staff from the original business. Both brands will be distributed through MDC’s network of showrooms in states across Australia, including Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne."

« Last Edit: October 19, 2016, 11:29:32 AM by MuruCycles »
Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
2018 GXL 78 Troopy with Alu-Cab conversion
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56

Re: Camel Campers bought by MDC
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2016, 11:27:33 AM »
so send em all broke, then buy em out???

« Last Edit: October 19, 2016, 11:29:21 AM by Bird »

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2016, 11:35:14 AM »

wonder if they'll cover warranties from the previous owners...

Depending on the terms of the sale, they may be obligated to... or it may have been equipment, IP and branding only. In Which case... no.

But it would do a lot for PR and the credibility of the "new" Camel Campers, if they covered previous warranties.

Guess we'll find out.

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
2018 GXL 78 Troopy with Alu-Cab conversion
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56

« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2016, 11:42:10 AM »
so send em all broke, then buy em out???
sounds like Capitalism

Offline ScottT

• Random acts of kindness without expectations
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2016, 11:51:27 AM »

"Our goal through the size of our already-established distribution network is to increase the Camel Campers brand market share and take it to the next level in conjunction with our MDC offering," Hindley said.

MDC will manufacture, distribute and promote of Camel Campers while also retaining a number of staff from the original business. Both brands will be distributed through MDC’s network of showrooms in states across Australia, including Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne."
[/quote]

I doubt this. Once they realize the true cost of Manufacturing in Australia, the Camel brand will be dumped.....
2005 Toyota Prado 1KZ 120 Series
2008 Customline 12ft Deluxe Off Road

« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2016, 12:05:52 PM »
Quote from: ScottT
I doubt this. Once they realize the true cost of Manufacturing in Australia, the Camel brand will be dumped.....
na just use imported trailers with the proven name....

« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2016, 12:11:03 PM »
Or, if they're smart, they will keep it as a premium brand and keep it made in Australia... however, when we saw the Camel's at Maitland they were the only ones that impressed us for the $10k-ish mark, and that is definitely in MDC's territory.

Look at someone like Tata or Geely - yes, they make cheap stuff in India and China respectively, but they bought Jaguar Land Rover (T) and Volvo (G) from Ford and have kept manufacturing where they were always made.... and in both cases they've gone leaps and bounds forwards from where they were with Ford. What it's given T and G is a lot of sound engineering knowledge, quality control processes and systems and an instant premium brand. There was a worry from the press when those takeovers happened that the brands were going to be cheapened, but instead they've each had some of their best years and in JLR's case have had to expand manufacturing capacity. I know that the motor industry isn't quite the same, but there are parallels in terms of brand perception.

Offline Joff

• "This is my Custom User Title"
« Reply #7 on: October 19, 2016, 12:30:26 PM »

The cost of manufacturing in Australia is not as high as you think. The issue here with camper trailers is that most have grown out of backyard businesses and are not set up efficiently.

If you make the distinction between someone who builds something the way I would build a camper in my shed and the efficient manufacture of just about anything most of the Australian camper 'manufacturers' are little more than camper 'builders'. Patriot have shown what is possible when you have the mindset of a true manufacturer. If MDC management plan to redevelop the Camel brand based on efficient manufacturing methods (which I'd put money on it that they are coz they are clearly not dummies) then I see no reason why they cant do exactly what they say they are planning to do.

HDJ-105 full dresser plus modded Allterrain and NO BLING

Offline Mangrovematt

« Reply #8 on: October 19, 2016, 12:33:41 PM »

[/quote]

Yep or corners will be cut and loose its "wholly Australian Made" / more Australian Assembled now, Telling sign will be  if it will ever gets its spot back on the Australian Manufactured Camper Trailer Guild,
Was talking to a supplier at the last Camping Show here on the Coast, said that their Trailers where shipped over in a container and Draw bars were welded on here which qualified them for  Australian made , WTF     tasted my Daggy  Dog twice on its way up.
LC 79 Dual cab ,  Camel beachcomber x4 humps

Offline ScottT

« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2016, 12:57:22 PM »
The cost of manufacturing in Australia is not as high as you think. The issue here with camper trailers is that most have grown out of backyard businesses and are not set up efficiently.

If you make the distinction between someone who builds something the way I would build a camper in my shed and the efficient manufacture of just about anything most of the Australian camper 'manufacturers' are little more than camper 'builders'. Patriot have shown what is possible when you have the mindset of a true manufacturer. If MDC management plan to redevelop the Camel brand based on efficient manufacturing methods (which I'd put money on it that they are coz they are clearly not dummies) then I see no reason why they cant do exactly what they say they are planning to do.

I'd like you tell that to the Workers of Holden, Ford, Mitsubishi, Toyota, Bonds and 100,000's of others whose lively hood has been impacted by Imported products once Manufactured in Australia !

I happen to be employed by a Family Owned, Australian Manufacturing Company and we are currently under threat from imports, particularly  from India, due to large Multi Nationals wanting more and more margin (profits) from you, the General Public.

Next time you change the oil or grease the tug, why not ask where the grease is made or if the engine oil is imported....

Offline ScottT

« Reply #10 on: October 19, 2016, 12:59:44 PM »
na just use imported trailers with the proven name....

yeah, which bollocks the true Australian made Camel !

« Reply #11 on: October 19, 2016, 12:59:52 PM »
I'd like you tell that to the Workers of Holden, Ford, Mitsubishi, Toyota, Bonds and 100,000's of others whose lively hood has been impacted by Imported products once Manufactured in Australia !

I happen to be employed by a Family Owned, Australian Manufacturing Company and we are currently under threat from imports, particularly  from India, due to large Multi Nationals wanting more and more margin (profits) from you, the General Public.

Next time you change the oil or grease the tug, why not ask where the grease is made or if the engine oil is imported....
Same as Caltex refinery at Kurnell where I worked for a while.... cheaper to make overseas and ship it here than make it here... WTF?

Offline Joff

« Reply #12 on: October 19, 2016, 01:02:30 PM »

Yep or corners will be cut and loose its "wholly Australian Made" / more Australian Assembled now, Telling sign will be  if it will ever gets its spot back on the Australian Manufactured Camper Trailer Guild,
Was talking to a supplier at the last Camping Show here on the Coast, said that their Trailers where shipped over in a container and Draw bars were welded on here which qualified them for  Australian made , WTF     tasted my Daggy  Dog twice on its way up.

That's crap. If that is what they are doing then they are open to being charged with a breach of law.

Offline ScottT

« Reply #13 on: October 19, 2016, 01:02:46 PM »
Same as Caltex refinery at Kurnell where I worked for a while.... cheaper to make overseas and ship it here than make it here... WTF?

Yep, these guys are a Marketing Company. What do you do when your Competitors start getting stronger ? Don't sell on quality, just reduce the price !

Does my head in

« Reply #14 on: October 19, 2016, 01:09:20 PM »
Quote from: ScottT
Yep, these guys are a Marketing Company. What do you do when your Competitors start getting stronger ? Don't sell on quality, just reduce the price !

Does my head in
The fact they didn't spend anything on the place for decades should have raised alarm bells. Few mates got massive handshakes... even Bob whose job was to twice a day 7am and 2.30pm) drive around and check the dunny rolls and light globes and go jetski riding most of the day between 'checks'... Not bad for $700/wk in 1995...

That place used to employ 100's... I remember 4pm shift change, if you wanted to cross the road, you have bollox chance and had to wait for someone to either let you cross, or wait for someone to miss a gear.

Funny, the Caltex service station on the actual road out of the refinery was more expensive than the servos 10klms away...

Offline Joff

« Reply #15 on: October 19, 2016, 01:15:42 PM »

See, you are confusing cost of manufacture with the economies of manufacturing. If your domestic market is relatively small and you have little in the way of export options for a product that requires huge and costly infrastructure to produce then you can't realise the economies of scale required. I too work for family owned Australian manufacturer of 68 years standing. Over the last few decades many of our core products have become un-economical to manufacture here so we have looked at alternative products and alternative markets where the economics of available market size, infrastructure, available technologies and so on make it a viable business.

I reckon camper trailers are in that sweet spot where if they are built efficiently then there is a big enough domestic market clearly willing to pay big bucks to acquire them.
The following users thanked this post: Bobsan

« Reply #16 on: October 19, 2016, 01:28:33 PM »

I have always thought this was the big issue with the whole Aussie vs imported argument. On one end of the scale you could have a fully Australian made camper with Australian made steel, canvas, components, batteries, cabling, switches, pumps etc etc. On the other hand, you could have a fully imported ready to go camper where everything is done overseas and is ready to go out of the container, In the middle, is where probably just about all campers exist. There is no real line in the sand it's more about a case of degrees and it is therefore, better to base decisions on quality, service, reputation and user reviews than a simple Aussie vs imported argument.

Couldn't agree with this more, In the same way they brought competition to the wider market in general, I think they plan on bringing it now to the Australian made sector. I think it is a smart move for them to purchase a premium Australian brand.

« Reply #17 on: October 19, 2016, 01:52:34 PM »
I still wouldn't buy one based on the past customer service skills and the attitude of the MD.

Offline Joff

« Reply #18 on: October 19, 2016, 01:54:49 PM »
I have always thought this was the big issue with the whole Aussie vs imported argument. On one end of the scale you could have a fully Australian made camper with Australian made steel, canvas, components, batteries, cabling, switches, pumps etc etc. On the other hand, you could have a fully imported ready to go camper where everything is done overseas and is ready to go out of the container, In the middle, is where probably just about all campers exist. There is no real line in the sand it's more about a case of degrees and it is therefore, better to base decisions on quality, service, reputation and user reviews than a simple Aussie vs imported argument.

The nominal rule is 50% plus Aust cost incurred content and you can call it Aussie made. Best example of this is the Commodore. 50.5% of it's cost at point wholesale was Aust incurred cost. There is always some financial gymnastics with these things though and usually against the spirit of the Act.

Offline ScottT

« Reply #19 on: October 19, 2016, 01:59:56 PM »
See, you are confusing cost of manufacture with the economies of manufacturing. If your domestic market is relatively small and you have little in the way of export options for a product that requires huge and costly infrastructure to produce then you can't realise the economies of scale required. I too work for family owned Australian manufacturer of 68 years standing. Over the last few decades many of our core products have become un-economical to manufacture here so we have looked at alternative products and alternative markets where the economics of available market size, infrastructure, available technologies and so on make it a viable business.

I reckon camper trailers are in that sweet spot where if they are built efficiently then there is a big enough domestic market clearly willing to pay big bucks to acquire them.

Mate, we export to - China, South Korea, NZ, Thailand, UAE, South Africa, so our market isn't small. So you ask why do we make products that those countries we are selling to don't ? Because it's to hard for them to. So they make the easy products that gives them the profits they want.

Last year we made 990,000kgs of grease.

However, we can make any lubricant product (aside from Food Grade) they need and have it delivered to them in less than 3 weeks. 100tne of grease to the Bowen Basin ? No problem. You want 250tne delivered to the West ? Easy. You need oil for your Sugar plant in South Africa ? No worries. We can make and ship in less than 4 weeks.

But, you only want to pay $2.50 p/kg for something that cost us $2.75 p/kg to make ? That's where the problem lies.

« Reply #20 on: October 19, 2016, 03:32:29 PM »

But, you only want to pay $2.50 p/kg for something that cost us $2.75 p/kg to make ? That's where the problem lies.

I’m not disputing what your saying, but my gripe is the calculation method of what something costs to make is Australia.

The bean counters at all large companies can make up a figure and no one knows if it’s correct or not. (Small companies are different)

If they simply want to stop making something, then they suddenly come out with a figure which says it’s too expensive here in Australia and that’s enough justification to move it overseas.

Calculating the cost to manufacture something is no different to banks justifying high interest rates on credit cards. With enough jargon you can justify anything. 

Offline Joff

« Reply #21 on: October 19, 2016, 03:54:17 PM »
Mate, we export to - China, South Korea, NZ, Thailand, UAE, South Africa, so our market isn't small. So you ask why do we make products that those countries we are selling to don't ? Because it's to hard for them to. So they make the easy products that gives them the profits they want.

Last year we made 990,000kgs of grease.

However, we can make any lubricant product (aside from Food Grade) they need and have it delivered to them in less than 3 weeks. 100tne of grease to the Bowen Basin ? No problem. You want 250tne delivered to the West ? Easy. You need oil for your Sugar plant in South Africa ? No worries. We can make and ship in less than 4 weeks.

If someone is selling it to them at $2.50 why would they pay $2.75? Clearly the others have either more efficient systems, better buying power with their base product suppliers (probably because they buy 100 times more than you do) or are simply willing to cop a loss for some reason. And yes, their cost of manufacture may well be lower.

At the end of the day I still don't know why we all get up in arms about the idea that we are losing manufacturing in Australia. If it's not because of efficiency and it is plain cost then that plain cost is because you and I want a 38 hour week, 4 weeks off a year, long service leave, $30 per hour and a 100% safe place to work not to mention clean streets, relatively free and fair legal system and free medical. If the other guy is willing to take less then he will be cheaper. If the punter can't see a value in the more expensive item (and that's not even remotely implicit in being 'Australian Made') then he buys the cheaper item.

Some things are not economical to make here in Australia anymore. that's the reality so, if a manufacturing company wants to survive they will need to find something that is and do it as efficiently as they can.

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #22 on: October 19, 2016, 04:45:22 PM »

If someone is selling it to them at $2.50 why would they pay $2.75? Clearly the others have either more efficient systems, better buying power with their base product suppliers (probably because they buy 100 times more than you do) or are simply willing to cop a loss for some reason. And yes, their cost of manufacture may well be lower.

At the end of the day I still don't know why we all get up in arms about the idea that we are losing manufacturing in Australia. If it's not because of efficiency and it is plain cost then that plain cost is because you and I want a 38 hour week, 4 weeks off a year, long service leave, $30 per hour and a 100% safe place to work not to mention clean streets, relatively free and fair legal system and free medical. If the other guy is willing to take less then he will be cheaper. If the punter can't see a value in the more expensive item (and that's not even remotely implicit in being 'Australian Made') then he buys the cheaper item.

Some things are not economical to make here in Australia anymore. that's the reality so, if a manufacturing company wants to survive they will need to find something that is and do it as efficiently as they can.

It's not all about manufacturing costs and being economical. Germany has increased its manufacturing exports and is competing well against low cost Asian and Chinese businesses. Germany is a highly regulated, high-wage country with a strong currency but an increasing share of the global market. But they're mostly niche businesses that avoid mass markets. They're rarely the cheapest manufacturer and  yet over 1000 German manufacturers hold the number one or two spots in their world markets or number one position in the European market. Its based on superior quality product offerings.
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

« Reply #23 on: October 19, 2016, 05:12:58 PM »

because you and I want a 38 hour week, 4 weeks off a year, long service leave, $30 per hour and a 100% safe place to work not to mention clean streets, relatively free and fair legal system and free medical. If the other guy is willing to take less then he will be cheaper.

And that there is a big % of the problem.  But you forgot, sick days , parental leave , careers leave and double time on sundays and public hold, oh yeah, you all want public hold, and be paid for them!!

Offline The punter

• "avoiding grey nomads since 2011"
« Reply #24 on: October 19, 2016, 05:30:53 PM »
And that there is a big % of the problem.  But you forgot, sick days , parental leave , careers leave and double time on sundays and public hold, oh yeah, you all want public hold, and be paid for them!!

All still achievable with appropriate tariffs. Tariffs were removed by back room sweetheart deals and the result of this trend that started with the Button plan is an entire country who no longer is smart enough to build anything.

Kids choices these days, go to uni, or be a barista.
13 FJ Cruiser
15 Lifestyle Reconn
1980 HJ45