Author Topic: Car Security  (Read 1322 times)

Car Security
« on: March 01, 2025, 08:40:35 AM »
With all the cars getting stolen and the "key" changer being so freely available for cars with "keyless" entry I'm looking at security systems for our cars.
Should I be getting steering locks (highly visible) or "kill switch"

The bosses car is several years old , not a hoon type target, but does have "keyless" entry/start.My car is Isuzu MUX 2018 automatic, "keyless" entry but a key start.

I was thinking a steering wheel lock for the older car , but what about the Isuzu , steering lock or "Kill switch" ?

Re: Car Security
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2025, 11:10:13 AM »
Great question, having just purchased for Fysh a 2021 MUX, which is parked during working hours in a carparking area hidden from the street.
At home I can't see a problem, it is in a locked garage when not being used.
We do have security cameras, which notify us of when someone enters the house yard, which is great for when receiving deliveries.
Then I have my 80 series, parked under cover, ready to go camping at the drop of a hat, and my 1999 Rodeo work ute with 25 odd K worth of tools, in it.
And I have a trailer with a Zero Turn mower, and associated lawn care tools, soon I'll also have a 10k RC Mower/Slasher.
Do I get GPS Trackers,

A good mate, 18 months ago, bought is wife a 4wd Quad Bike, two days after delivery(in a locked shed, rural), the shedhad the padlock cut, the fence cut, never to be seen again, had got to insure it, ;(
Cops came and finger printed a couple of things, he has heard back, and when he rings about it, "Nothing as yet"
Sorry for the long winded post, I can understand wanting to protect your property, living in a rural area, we hear of theft of machinery, Ute's, trailers, bikes regularly.
I don't know what the answer is.

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.

« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2025, 03:13:36 PM »
DO anything you can

with all the videos on youtube showing 'what the crim's are doing' - or showing everyone how to do it your nearly fightting a losing battle

Mentioned this before - a bloke pulled up next to me at 7-11 weeks ago, we got to chatting...   his VF Black Series Commodore was stolen 2 times in 2 weeks.. engine and gearbox toast now and having issues with insurance... The crim was caught with the blokes commodore in his driveway - and had a pile of number plates in his bedroom - trophys from stolen cars

I reckon you do as much as you can....
Tracking, Apple tag, Imobilzer, alarm, flashing LED on dashboard, steering wheel locks (dont think they do much really), one of those brake pedal locks, kill switch, etc

Make it look as undesirable as possible so they move onto the next one

The issue is as ****in usual once caught they get their 239423048230498 bail and community corrections order and are out of jail in minutes.

« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2025, 03:45:00 PM »
Hey Bird,
Sorry it's pay walled.

So the little thieves get preferential treatment, and teachers will need to trained to deal with them?
So where is the deterrent?
They'll wear the ankle bracelet as a badge of honoir. :)

« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2025, 10:55:01 AM »
Hey Bird,
Sorry it's pay walled.

So the little thieves get preferential treatment, and teachers will need to trained to deal with them?
So where is the deterrent?
They'll wear the ankle bracelet as a badge of honoir. :)

wen your totally out of ideas... make ti someone elses problem

https://www.9news.com.au/national/victoria-schools-principals-blindsided-by-government-trial-to-place-youth-offenders-in-classrooms/5ad5f2d1-f1d3-404b-b0c5-c68ee4911500

« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2025, 05:10:58 PM »
wen your totally out of ideas... make ti someone elses problem

https://www.9news.com.au/national/victoria-schools-principals-blindsided-by-government-trial-to-place-youth-offenders-in-classrooms/5ad5f2d1-f1d3-404b-b0c5-c68ee4911500
Thanks for a better link to this.
Agree, seams to be the way these days.
Not my problem, make it someone else's.
:(

« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2025, 04:33:03 PM »
For home, what about wheel clamps? Anyone know much about them?

« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2025, 04:37:44 PM »
If there isn't a plate that covers the wheel nuts, it would be pointless.
Bastards could just have another wheel.

« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2025, 09:41:41 PM »
Just bought 1 for when I'm free camping in the van ,with plate, so I can hopefully come back from fishing and it will still be there

« Reply #9 on: March 04, 2025, 11:19:41 AM »
The best anti-theft solution for a car?
Get a manual.
- Rhinomax Scorpion Hybrid